The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Players are just dumb! (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/35612-players-just-dumb.html)

Mountaineer Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:22pm

Players are just dumb!
 
At least some of them are! I had a LL game tonight - Big League Girls - and one team had a girl that started this past season on a DII team here in WV. Not a bad player and a pretty good kid. In the second game, I'm the BU and she smacked a double and the throw went into third. She was off second and the fielder ran her back to the bag. The cat-and-mouse game then started as the younger fielder would start to walk away with the ball in her glove the runner would start for third only to be driven back to second. After the third time I was getting ready to just kill the play and end the goofy play when the fielder just tossed the ball back to the pitcher who was in the circle. The runner started retreating back to the bag with the pitcher just watching - not even thinking about making a play - and the runner stops and stares. I bang her out for being off base with the ball in the circle and this player who played college ball this year looked at me like I was the most stupid person on the planet! After the game, I talked to her about it and she doesn't see what she did wrong - even after I and her coach explained the rule. Sheeeeeeesh - I'll see her a few times next season in college and I'll be watching . . .

WestMichBlue Wed Jun 13, 2007 07:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mountaineer
. . . when the fielder just tossed the ball back to the pitcher who was in the circle. The runner started retreating back to the bag with the pitcher just watching - not even thinking about making a play - and the runner stops and stares. I bang her out for being off base with the ball in the circle . . .

IF - runner was retreating when the ball went into the circle and the LBR came into effect, then she is allowed one stop. Bad call!

IF - runner was stopped when ball went into the circle and the LBR came into effect, then on the second stop she is called out. Good call!

From your OP I cannot tell which scenareo is correct, so we don't know if the player or the umpire gets the "dumb" adjective. :confused: (Hopefully it is the player. :) )

WMB

MNBlue Wed Jun 13, 2007 07:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mountaineer
the runner stops and stares.

I think this is where Mountaineer got the out. The stop wasn't the infraction, the extended stop without immediately advancing or retreating was the problem.

Just a guess. :)

wadeintothem Wed Jun 13, 2007 08:16am

Hopefully she gets squared away before next years Jr City College World Series.

bellnier Wed Jun 13, 2007 09:41am

Yeah...it was probably that "immediate" thing.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:16am

If the sequence in the OP is correct (ball back to pitcher then runner begins back toward base) that would be a second stop.

bkbjones Wed Jun 13, 2007 06:11pm

I'd call her out for staring. There is no staring in softball.

(Just kidding - don't want anyone blowing a gasket.)

wadeintothem Wed Jun 13, 2007 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
I'd call her out for staring. There is no staring in softball.

(Just kidding - don't want anyone blowing a gasket.)

imagining this scenario, it wouldnt take much for me to ring her up. If I have time enough to think "hey shes staring at the pitcher" .. the out hand is going.

MichaelVA2000 Wed Jun 13, 2007 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mountaineer
I bang her out for being off base with the ball in the circle and this player who played college ball this year looked at me like I was the most stupid person on the planet! After the game, I talked to her about it and she doesn't see what she did wrong - even after I and her coach explained the rule. Sheeeeeeesh - I'll see her a few times next season in college and I'll be watching . . .

Why would you put yourself in that type of position? Maybe it's just me, but this does not seem to be the ideal time for a rules clinic with a coach and player.

When the game is over you should be heading off the field with your partner.

SC Ump Thu Jun 14, 2007 05:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
IF - runner was retreating when the ball went into the circle and the LBR came into effect, then she is allowed one stop. Bad call!

I know the BR is allowed to round first and then make one stop. Are runners who are not the BR allowed the "one stop"?

(The original play noted LL rules. How about ASA and FED?)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1