The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 55
Train Wreck, Malicious Contact, or Obstruction.

I had this last weekend.

14U ASA Rules, 2 Outs, R1 on 3rd R2 on 2nd, Batter hits a blooper into right field R1 scores, R2 rounds third and heads for home.

Ball is comming in to the catcher but throw is off line and there will not even been any play. Cathcher is in line with Home and third but at least 3feet to the right and behind the plate. The runner (full speed) touches home but continues to run thru the catcher, causing a pretty violent collision. I killed the ball, put the BR on second and called the coches out to check on thier players. During this time my partner and I got together and discussed what had happend. We both felt that R2 should have attempted to avoid the contact with the catcher since she was so far out of the play.

Atfer this discussion during which parents on the defesive side were just going nuts. We called both coaches out and informed them that based on the fact that runners need to attempt to avoid contact even though it didn't appear to be intent of nature but the contact was malicious. R2 was to be declaired out and no run would score. Both coaches even the offensive coach didn't even argue, so game on.

I know this is a HTBT play but, if you felt that the contact could have been avoided, would you have ruled the same way?



After
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
How do you have unintentional maliciousness?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
It is very HTBT ... but I don't understand how one would rule MALICE without ruling INTENT. One seems to hinge on the other, don't you think? And a VIOLENT collision is not always a MALICIOUS collision.

Not sure how you got the run off the board either, considering that the run scored 3 steps before the contact.

But, as you say, HTBT... if the contact was violent and avoidable, I could see a defacto ruling of intent and malice - just make sure you don't say, when explaining the call, that you felt the contact was unintentional, but malicious - I'd protest that in a heartbeat and likely win.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
If anything at all, I would rule that the run counts and I *might* eject the player for unsportsmanlike conduct. I'd lean a little more towards the "wreck" side of things. Very HTBT.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
No, I wouldn't.

If anything, the only penalty you have is USC and all you can do with that is eject the player. Unless, in your judgment, you believe the catcher could have possibly retired R3 when the collision occured, then you could rule that runner out. But don't do that just to penalize the team. If there was no play, there is no INT.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Rattlehead,
I'm in agreement with the rest of the gang. You don't have a rule-based reason to not score the run. Since you judged that the runner was able to avoid the catcher and chose not to, you do have reason to eject for USC. Depending on whether you & your partner felt the catcher had a play on R3, you either have that runner out or on the base she had attained at the time of the contact.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
The run scores , you cant take that off the team unless it is an appeal for something and there is none here .
A runner at full speed cannot slow down immediatley and it is very hard to avoid a collision , after all it is only 3 feet and the way the runner chose her base path I imagine thats the way she would have gone , a big angle virtually heading back towards 1st and thats where the catcher was .
At most you could have an ejection plus runner closest to home out but run scores
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
The run scores , you cant take that off the team unless it is an appeal for something and there is none here .
A runner at full speed cannot slow down immediatley and it is very hard to avoid a collision , after all it is only 3 feet and the way the runner chose her base path I imagine thats the way she would have gone , a big angle virtually heading back towards 1st and thats where the catcher was .
At most you could have an ejection plus runner closest to home out but run scores
I'm assuming that by "at most," you're saying that there was a play that could be made on R3, yes? Otherwise, if R3 is standing on 1st or 2nd and not making any move to advance, R2 didn't hinder F2's ability to make a play because... well... there is no play to be made. As such, no INT, no out.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
1. Score the run.
2. Run the runner.
3. If the defensive team would have retired another runner or the batter/runner, ring that one up.
4. Yes, you can have malice without intent - by reason of insanity, which some coach is going to be after this play is done.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
NCSA
Of course
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones
...
4. Yes, you can have malice without intent - by reason of insanity, which some coach is going to be after this play is done.
Don't know if you were joking here... insane coach and all. But anyway,

malice
n.
1 active ill will; desire to harm another or to do mischief; spite
2 Law evil intent; state of mind shown by intention to do, or intentional doing of, something unlawful
malice aforethought (or prepense) a deliberate intention and plan to do something unlawful, as murder

But, a violent collision is not necessarily USC.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
I thought that weeks ago, we concluded a topic with violent being the interp. of malicious and that runners charging into fielders violently was ejectable regardless of intent. I hope I don't have to look for it, if someone can confirm or deny; might have been NFHS.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
If the "Catcher is in line with Home and third" and only about "3 feet behind the plate" and "The runner" is running at "full speed", then this sure sounds like OBS, above all else. The F2 should not be in the runner's path, even if it's just beyond the base. The runner has the right to run at full speed if the fielder is not about to tag the runner with the ball. If the errant throw drew the F2 up the third base line and into the runner's path before she got to home plate, then it would be OBS. So because the errant throw drew the F2 into the runner's direct path, right on the other side of home plate, it should still be OBS. At most it would have to be crash and no penalty on the runner, since the errant throw drew the F2 into the runner's path. You'd call it a crash or OBS if the F2 got drawn up the 3B line and right into the full-steam runner, wouldn't you?

The F2 should know, or should be taught, to get out of the runner's way. The runner just can't 'disappear' after touching home. What is the runner supposed to do, slide into F2 after scoring?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefoot
If the "Catcher is in line with Home and third" and only about "3 feet behind the plate" and "The runner" is running at "full speed", then this sure sounds like OBS, above all else.
Not possible. If the runner is at full speed and there is no mention of an altered path, it cannot be OBS as the catcher did not impede the runner.

Quote:
The F2 should not be in the runner's path, even if it's just beyond the base. The runner has the right to run at full speed if the fielder is not about to tag the runner with the ball. If the errant throw drew the F2 up the third base line and into the runner's path before she got to home plate, then it would be OBS. So because the errant throw drew the F2 into the runner's direct path, right on the other side of home plate, it should still be OBS.
Please note, once the player touches the plate, s/he is no longer a runner.
Quote:

At most it would have to be crash and no penalty on the runner, since the errant throw drew the F2 into the runner's path. You'd call it a crash or OBS if the F2 got drawn up the 3B line and right into the full-steam runner, wouldn't you?

The F2 should know, or should be taught, to get out of the runner's way. The runner just can't 'disappear' after touching home. What is the runner supposed to do, slide into F2 after scoring?
Or could slide at the plate. Point one, the player is not a runner. Point two, there is no possible OBS call here. Point three, that only leaves USC if, and ONLY IF, the umpire judges the runner made no attempt to check up or avoid .
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 09, 2007, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
[QUOTE=IRISHMAFIA]Not possible. If the runner is at full speed and there is no mention of an altered path, it cannot be OBS as the catcher did not impede the runner.
QUOTE]

You've got to be kidding. So if the F2, without the ball stands right next to home plate, that is, on the 1B side of it, directly on the baseline drawn directly from 3B and home plate, 60 feet and 1 inch away from 3B, that the runner is expected to not run directly into F2? If the F2's presence in that spot causes the runner to deviate her path, so she does not get injured by running into F2, then that would be OBS, I believe.

Say R1 misses home plate but runs into F2 (without the ball) in the above scenario. R1 has the opportunity to move to touch home plate, but if the collision with F2 prevents R1 from doing so, and then if R1 is tagged out before reaching home plate, then F2 has committed OBS on R1 because F2 impeded R1 from touching home, while without the ball.

I understand your point that the runner is no longer a runner once she has scored, but is the runner expected to go from running full-tilt to stopping on a dime? Or changing direction and breaking her ankle? What would you call if an F3, without the ball, stood directly behind 1B as a runner was trying to beat out an infield hit? F3 is not in the runner's way between the batter's box and 1B, but is clearly impeding the runner's direct path that goes through the base? Are you meaning that that should not also be OBS?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No-call train wreck? mplagrow Basketball 21 Sat Feb 11, 2006 09:36pm
Train wreck no call UW/Pacific zebraman Basketball 16 Tue Mar 22, 2005 09:24am
Train wreck gone? WestMichBlue Softball 13 Thu Feb 17, 2005 04:10pm
Obstruction / Malicious Contact mcrowder Softball 32 Fri May 21, 2004 02:22pm
Malicious Contact (FED) Gre144 Baseball 1 Tue Jun 26, 2001 09:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1