![]() |
Interference - Am I missing something?? (Poll)
Last night, a couple of my fellow umps from our org and I were chatting about interference. Here's one such play that was discussed...
R1 on 1st, no outs. B2 hits the ball to F5, who throws it to F6 on 2nd base. F6 tags 2nd base for force out and positions to throw to F3 at 1st. R1 hookslides into 2nd, his legs coming towards F6's legs. F6 changes his stance to avoid R1, and throws to F3, but the BR beats it in a bang-bang play. My call would be that R1 hindered F6's ability to make the play, and as such, this is a dead ball, BR2 is also out due to the interference. My fellow umps say that because R1 was "still within reach" of 2nd base, this is not interference. I say my fellow umps need a few more clinics. I'm actually embarassed to post this question, but they insisted they were right. They even told me, "go post it on that forum and see what they say!" So here it is. Interference or not? |
Quote:
Bad news, bubba. Your partners are correct. The runner was doing nothing wrong, but sliding toward the base to which he was advancing. As long as it was a slide and within reach of the base, there is no violation. Only way you get INT on this is if the runner tries to kick or whip F6 and that is not indicated in the post. "Take out" slides are not illegal. |
Perhaps I had a different picture in my head about what I was discussing with my partners. What I was picturing was the runner sliding with one foot towards the base with another foot going for F6's legs. I neglected to mention that one of them even said, "yeah, I'd go for his legs to try and break up the double-play." While the runners get their "choice" of how they want to approach the bag, my understanding of INT was that the defense must still be allowed to execute their play as well.
R/S #33: "Defensive players must be given the opportunity to field the ball anywhere on the playing field or throw the ball without being hindered." If a runner's leg is clearly not going for the base and is going directly to the fielder, hindering him from executing his normal throw, that to me says INT. I consider it to be the same as if the runner had stood straight up when coming into the base, effectively blocking the fielder's throw. Maybe my OP and what I envisioned in my head (described above) are two different scenarios. |
Quote:
|
Which set of rules were the teams playing by may I ask?
|
I've got to agree with Mike here. If R1 was executing a legal slide and was within reach of the base, I would not call interference.
|
Quote:
As long as there is an attempt to reach the bag, the slide location is irrelevant. |
Quote:
|
With all due respect and appreciation to all those posting, can you cite a rule on this? Eventually, this is going to happen, and if I don't call it, someone is going to want to know why. :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I both stand and sit corrected. Thanks, all! :) |
Quote:
Quote:
|
BTW, NFHS actually includes a definition of an illegal slide in their rule book. You can be pretty sure that if the slide was legal for NFHS, it was legal for ASA (although the inverse may not necessarily be true).
Here is the NFHS definition: Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
WMB |
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20am. |