The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   You make the call - double base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/34134-you-make-call-double-base.html)

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 26, 2007 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
And if THAT doesn't work,

Here is the response I received:

Mike,

Thanks again for your question.

Although the play is rare, it certainly does happen.

Using Rule 8 Section 2M3 we see the problem and the answer. It states: "Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion of the base.

The effect tells us that the batter-runner is out ......providing the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base. It goes on to say that .."Once the runner returns to the white or colored portion of the base, no appeal can be made".

By definition, a runner is ..."an offensive player who has reached first base, and not yet been put out". Once the batter-runner reached first base, they became a runner, and have the right to return to either the white or colored portion. Using the above rule references the appeal could not be allowed, and the runner would be safe.

DonP Mon May 28, 2007 09:03am

Switch it around
 
Sit: BR hits to F6, who fields cleanly and throws to F3 whos foot is a: completly on the orange, or b: mostly on orange/some on white. Is runner safe or out in a or b? using what ruling. It seems that even though safety is the main reason for the double base, there is a certain amount of burdon placed on offensive and defense to get a penalty inacted for improper use. Answering my own question I would have to say she is safe in A using the "no bag" sell and OUT in B because even though she is in contact with the orange, she is also in contact with the white. Is any part of her foot allowed to touch the orange, Does the BR have any recourse for F3 having any or most of her foot on the orange?

thanks

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2007 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DonP
Does the BR have any recourse for F3 having any or most of her foot on the orange?

Not that will allow her to stay in the game

jimpiano Mon May 28, 2007 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Here is the response I received:

Mike,

Thanks again for your question.

Although the play is rare, it certainly does happen.

Using Rule 8 Section 2M3 we see the problem and the answer. It states: "Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion of the base.

The effect tells us that the batter-runner is out ......providing the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base. It goes on to say that .."Once the runner returns to the white or colored portion of the base, no appeal can be made".

By definition, a runner is ..."an offensive player who has reached first base, and not yet been put out". Once the batter-runner reached first base, they became a runner, and have the right to return to either the white or colored portion. Using the above rule references the appeal could not be allowed, and the runner would be safe.

Some answer, begging the question of the need for a double bag.

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 28, 2007 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimpiano
Some answer, begging the question of the need for a double bag.

The need for the double-base is a direct result of today's coaches, from t-ball to NCAA Div I, either ignoring 1B as a skill position or not caring enough to make sure the player knows how to play the position.

Watch the NCAA DI Softball Championships this coming week and see how many players play the position properly and how many run to the base, plop a foot on it and stretch for a throw before it is enroute.

jimpiano Mon May 28, 2007 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
The need for the double-base is a direct result of today's coaches, from t-ball to NCAA Div I, either ignoring 1B as a skill position or not caring enough to make sure the player knows how to play the position.

Watch the NCAA DI Softball Championships this coming week and see how many players play the position properly and how many run to the base, plop a foot on it and stretch for a throw before it is enroute.

My point was to the rule that requires a batter/runner to run to the colored bag when, in fact, he/she is really not required to do so. The defense has to use the white bag and if it does not, the batter/runner is safe. If the batter/runner hits the white he is out only on appeal, and no appeal is allowed in the OP on this thread.

Common sense takes a beating.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1