![]() |
Quote:
|
I'm at work and don't have my rule book with me. I can tell you roughly where it is in the book, if you'd like, but being without my rule book right now makes it kinda difficult.
Take a look in rule 5, section 4 or 5. Find the section that deals with the "fourth out appeal". As far as the dancing in circles, well... I've yet to find that one, but I'm sure it's in there. /sarcasm But seriously, if I had my book with me, I'd give you the exact rule. Until then... It'll just have to wait until after my 3 games tonight. If anyone else cares to look up the one I mentioned, feel free. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
ASA
Rule 8.7.G The runner is out ... When the runner fails to touch the intervening base or bases in regular or reverse order and the ball is returned to an infielder and properly appealed. If the runner put out is the batter-runner at first base, or any other runner forced to advance because the batter became a batter runner, this is a force out. NFHS Rule 8.6.7 A runner is out when The runner fails to touch the intervening base or bases in regular or reverse order and the ball is returned to the infield and properly appealed. If the runner put out is the batter-runner at first base, or any other runner forced to advance because the batter became a batter-runner, this is a force out. What these rules tell me is that EVEN IF the batter-runner touches first base, AND R1 touches home, R2 and R3 ARE required to touch the bases to which they were forced. If they don't, they can be appealed out and the out would be a force out, wiping out the run. |
Quote:
The runners are forced to advance because the batter was awarded first base. But they are not liable to be put out. The scenario is that the runner on third scored and the batter did not go to first. With less than two outs the batter could be appealed but the run would count. Game over. There is no potential appeal on any other runner since neither was under liabiliity to be put out, i.e. forced. The run scoring was not predicated on anything other than the batter being awarded first base and does not need the other runners to touch the next base as it would under a batted ball with the bases loaded. With two outs the run would be nullified only if the batter failed to advance to first. |
I agree, Mark, and that is also what mcrowder was saying.
Bottom of 7th, tie score, bases loaded, BR receives a base on balls... No outs. R1 crosses home, R2, R3, and BR join the celebration failing to touch 3rd, 2nd, and 1st. Defense has 3 appeals available to them, and if they make all three, inning is over and no runs score. You do the scenarios as to who touches, who doesn't and number of outs for variations on this. I still have a question out there... what about the runners abandoning the attempt to advance and entering DBT. This is not an appeal play. |
Quote:
Riddle me this. Suppose we have this same situation earlier in the game, so there is no game-ending scenario involved. F2 overthrows F1. All runners (who were forced to advance due to the base on balls) now take off, R1 scores on the walk, R2 scores on the overthrow, R3 ends up on 3rd and BR on 2nd. But, R2 missed 3rd (notice - the base she was entitled to without liability) and R3 missed 2nd (again, the base she was entitled to without liability). Would you not honor those appeals? |
Quote:
|
What these rules tell me is that EVEN IF the batter-runner touches first base, AND R1 touches home, R2 and R3 ARE required to touch the bases to which they were forced. If they don't, they can be appealed out and the out would be a force out, wiping out the run.
__________________ Again, a runner with NO liability to be put out is not forced to touch the next base to validate a run scoring. In this case when the runner from third touches home before or after the batter/runner touches first the game is over. There is nothing to appeal. |
Quote:
We were discussing game ending scenarios on a bases loaded walk. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22am. |