The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Obstruction Rule application

Bringing an obstruction issue over from another board. Using ASA rules, though I suspect that your answer will be applicable to any rule set.
************************************************** *************

Question: Is the obstruction rule, including penalties and exceptions, applied equally regardless of how a put out is made by the defense?

Situation: Batter-Runner is obstructed between home and 1B. Prior to reaching 1B the B-R is put out by the defense by:

a) tagging her with the ball
b) throwing to 1B
c) catching her fly ball.

The rule states that an obstructed runner cannot be put out between the bases which she was obstructed. Is that always true in a, b, and c?

The rule states that if an obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base which would have been reached had they not been obstructed - (call dead ball and award the base.)

In c) would you interpret the above to mean that the B-R would not have "reached" (achieved, had a legal right to, etc) because of the fly ball? Or that "reached" simply meant had the ability to physically travel that far?

In the simpliest form: Does a fly ball negate obstruction? Or has the defense lost an out because of obstruction?

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Warren Ohio
Posts: 60
WMB,

I'm glad you brought this over here from the other board. At first, I was in the "out" crowd. Now, I'm fairly confident in awarding the BR 1st in the fly ball catch situation. It's too bad that other discussion took the ugly turn, but there was good info none the less.

I plan on using this situation tomorrow in our HS association meeting as part of my interpreter part of the meeting.
__________________
Screen name should be MattV
but I'm stuck with this one.
OHSAA/ASA/NSA/PONY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Barring an authorative interpretation from the governing body, my instinct would be to call the batter-runner out on this play.

If the penalty for obstuction is to award whichever base, or bases, needed to negate the effects of the obstruction it seems logical to ignore the obstruction on this play. We don't award bases that the runner would have never reached.

Maybe there is a case play or published ruling that covers this one. If so, I am not aware of it.

I am aware of the potential pitfalls of applying baseball concepts to the game of softball. Lacking a definite softball ruling, I will offer this one from Major League baseball.

If a batter-runner is obstructed before first base, but his batted ball becomes caught or foul, the obstruction is nullified.

Different sport, yes, but, to me, same concept.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 145
Brain teasers early in the season. Trick question. The simple answer is no, a batter cannot be obstructed on a caught fly ball. In order for the batter to be obstructed she must first become a batter-runner. Look at 8-1-A (As soon as the batter legally hits a fair ball). A fly ball is neither fair nor foul until it meets certain criteria. If it falls into foul territory its foul. Can the batter be obstructed on a foul ball? No because she never becomes a batter-runner. If the ball falls into fair territory can she be obstructed? Of course, as she became a batter-runner when she met the criteria in 8-1-A. A caught fly ball is neither foul nor fair. Do we signal foul when a fly ball is caught in foul territory? No. Are the runners forced on a caught fly ball? No. Why? Because the batter never becomes a batter-runner. She is out on the catch and her status never changes.

Paul
__________________
"If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about the answers."
Thomas Pynchon
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Az.Ump
Brain teasers early in the season. Trick question. The simple answer is no, a batter cannot be obstructed on a caught fly ball. In order for the batter to be obstructed she must first become a batter-runner. Look at 8-1-A (As soon as the batter legally hits a fair ball). A fly ball is neither fair nor foul until it meets certain criteria. If it falls into foul territory its foul. Can the batter be obstructed on a foul ball? No because she never becomes a batter-runner. If the ball falls into fair territory can she be obstructed? Of course, as she became a batter-runner when she met the criteria in 8-1-A. A caught fly ball is neither foul nor fair. Do we signal foul when a fly ball is caught in foul territory? No. Are the runners forced on a caught fly ball? No. Why? Because the batter never becomes a batter-runner. She is out on the catch and her status never changes.

Paul
Interesting angle, but while we are quoting rules, I bring these citations up, not that they directly support or refute the OP, but that obviously the ASA Rules acknowledge the existence of both fair and foul fly balls.

1. DEFINITIONS:
FLY BALL: A batted ball, fair or foul, that rises into the air.

Rule 7, Section 6. THE BATTER IS OUT.
I. When members of the team at bat, including those in the team area, other than
runners interfere with a player attempting to field a fair or foul fly ball.

Rule 8, Section 7
NOTE: Section 7 J-L: When runners are called out for interference, the
batter-runner is awarded first base.
EXCEPTION: If the interference prevents the fielder from catching
a routine fly ball, fair or foul, with ordinary effort, the batter is also out.

Rules Supplement #23:
Remember, the runner must wait until “first touch” before breaking contact with a base on a caught fly ball, fair or foul.

Umpire Manual:
On batted balls close to the foul line, once it is touched the umpire must point toward fair or foul territory indicating the status of the ball, before signaling catch or no catch.
__________________
Tony

Last edited by tcannizzo; Sun Mar 04, 2007 at 08:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 145
Thumbs up

Good point Tom. IMHO fair or foul are used both to describe the location of and the status of the ball. The references used in Definitions, Rule 7-6, Rule 8-7 and Rules supplement # 23 only refer to the location of the ball at the time not its status. The quote from the umpire manual makes no sense to me but that’s not unusual (me not the manual). If the ball is legally caught the ball’s status is “live” and its location on either side of the line is irrelevant unless there may be some sort of scoring issue.
Another thought on the OP is that runners must be entitled to legally advance. If runners are obstructed during a foul ball they have to return as they cannot legally advance. A batter who runs on a 2nd strike uncaught who is obstructed must return and bat as they are not entitled to advance. A batter who is out on a fly ball is not entitled to advance and therefore cannot be obstructed.

Paul
__________________
"If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about the answers."
Thomas Pynchon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference - Judgement, Rules Application, Both UmpJM Baseball 21 Fri May 19, 2006 10:00pm
Proper application of OBS? U of M Sam Softball 1 Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm
mercy rule application chas Softball 2 Sat May 07, 2005 04:59pm
Application of 9.01(c) akalsey Baseball 20 Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm
Obstruction Rule SSCoach Softball 17 Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1