The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   INT or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/32327-int-not.html)

WestMichBlue Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:40am

ASA: Deflected batted ball, interference must be intentional.

NCAA: Ricochet batted ball, interference must be intentional.

NFHS 2007: Initial Play rule does not include a subsequent fielder attempting to field a batted ground ball. Therefore no protection from interference.

In all three rule sets; if a batted ball touches F5 and rolls towards F6, and in attempting to field the ball F6 makes contact with R1, obstruction is the call. (Unless you somehow think that R1 deliberately ran into F6.)

Differences:

In ASA and NCAA if the ball bounds off F1, the same rules apply.

In NFHS, if a fielder is attempting to field a ball touched by F1 they are still making an Initial Play, thus are protected against interference.

In ASA and NCAA, if a line drive bounced off F5 into the air, the same rules apply.

In NFHS, if a line drive bounced off F5 into the air and F6 had a chance to make an out (catch a fly ball) then F6 is making an Initial Play and is protected against interference.

Clear as mud?

WMB

HawkeyeCubP Thu Mar 01, 2007 01:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
In all three rule sets; if a batted ball touches F5 and rolls towards F6, and in attempting to field the ball F6 makes contact with R1, obstruction is the call. (Unless you somehow think that R1 deliberately ran into F6.)

I see your logic, but the 2007 ASA PowerPoint I just quoted disagrees with that statement. It states that there is no call either way, under ASA rules (absent intent from either player).

mcrowder Thu Mar 01, 2007 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
I see your logic, but the 2007 ASA PowerPoint I just quoted disagrees with that statement. It states that there is no call either way, under ASA rules (absent intent from either player).

I can't see how this could be correct. I understand that where you got it is about as credible source as possible, but surely this is a mistake. If the fielder is protected (as in a batted, non-deflected ball), then the runner has the obligation to avoid the fielder. Easy. If the fielder is NOT protected (as in the OP), then the fielder has an obligation to not be in the runner's basepath - period. No exception for chasing a deflected ball or errant throw or anything listed in the rulebook. I don't see any "train wreck" situation in the book at all other than the grounder being fielded right in front of the box by the catcher.

bbsbvb83 Thu Mar 01, 2007 09:17am

This is clear cut in NFHS: Obstruction.

WestMichBlue Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbsbvb83
This is clear cut in NFHS: Obstruction.

What is clear? You have multiple options with different answers.

Assuming contact between a runner and fielder:

1. If the fielder bobbles the ball and is within a step and a reach of the ball, the call is interference.

2. If the fielder bobbles the ball and has taken three steps to retrieve it, the call is obstruction.

3. If a batted ground ball deflects off the pitcher and another fielder attempts to field it, the call is interference.

4. If a batted ground ball deflects of another fielder, and a second fielder move to field it, the call is obstruction.

5. If a batted ball in the air deflects off any fielder and a second fieder moves to catch it, the call is interference.

So in five situations we have two obstruction calls and three interference calls. Of course, any deliberate action by a runner will over-rule obstruction.

WMB

argodad Thu Mar 01, 2007 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
What is clear? You have multiple options with different answers.

Assuming contact between a runner and fielder:

1. If the fielder bobbles the ball and is within a step and a reach of the ball, the call is interference.

2. If the fielder bobbles the ball and has taken three steps to retrieve it, the call is obstruction.

3. If a batted ground ball deflects off the pitcher and another fielder attempts to field it, the call is interference.

4. If a batted ground ball deflects of another fielder, and a second fielder move to field it, the call is obstruction.

5. If a batted ball in the air deflects off any fielder and a second fieder moves to catch it, the call is interference.

So in five situations we have two obstruction calls and three interference calls. Of course, any deliberate action by a runner will over-rule obstruction.

WMB

Agree. But the OP is your situation #4, so in NFHS, OBSTRUCTION is the call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1