The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   INT or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/32327-int-not.html)

HawkeyeCubP Wed Feb 28, 2007 05:06pm

INT or not?
 
Situation: With no outs, R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, B3 hits a ground ball to F5, who deflects the batted ball toward F6. While attempting to field the deflected batted ball, F6 collides with R2 who is advancing toward 3B.

What's your call?

Edited: ASA Rules

mcrowder Wed Feb 28, 2007 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Situation: With no outs, R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, B3 hits a ground ball to F5, who deflects the batted ball toward F6. While attempting to field the deflected batted ball, F6 collides with R2 who is advancing toward 3B.

What's your call?

Ruleset? x

IRISHMAFIA Wed Feb 28, 2007 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Situation: With no outs, R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, B3 hits a ground ball to F5, who deflects the batted ball toward F6. While attempting to field the deflected batted ball, F6 collides with R2 who is advancing toward 3B.

What's your call?

Depends on rule set and my judgment. IOW, there is no standard cookie cutter answer to this one without more information.

greymule Wed Feb 28, 2007 05:47pm

The wording sounds very much like that of a question from an ASA test of a couple of years ago. The answer was no interference.

But you have to see it. "F6 collides with R2" appears to indicate that it was more the fielder chasing the ball and running into the runner than vice versa. If the fielder was stationary in trying to field the deflected ball and the runner then ran into the fielder, that would probably be considered avoidable and would qualify as interference. It's a HTBT.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Feb 28, 2007 05:57pm

Edited to include rule set clarification: ASA.

Steve M Wed Feb 28, 2007 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Situation: With no outs, R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, B3 hits a ground ball to F5, who deflects the batted ball toward F6. While attempting to field the deflected batted ball, F6 collides with R2 who is advancing toward 3B.

What's your call?

Edited: ASA Rules

This was one of the examples used for this year's Fed presentation. In Fed ball, it's obstruction. And, with F6 colliding with the runner, you're going to have a problem in ASA having anything other than obstruction.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Feb 28, 2007 06:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M
And, with F6 colliding with the runner, you're going to have a problem in ASA having anything other than obstruction.

Why would there be a problem with calling INT on R2? - F6 is attempting to field a batted ball, and is considered to be making a play, per this year's addition to Rule 1 of the "play" definition.

rwest Wed Feb 28, 2007 06:27pm

No, F6 is attempting to field a deflected batted ball
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Why would there be a problem with calling INT on R2? - F6 is attempting to field a batted ball, and is considered to be making a play, per this year's addition to Rule 1 of the "play" definition.

Interference on the runner has to be intentional, even with this years changes, on a deflected ball.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Feb 28, 2007 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Interference on the runner has to be intentional, even with this years changes, on a deflected ball.

Looking for a citation that reflects this.

rwest Wed Feb 28, 2007 06:43pm

Rule 8-7-J-4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Looking for a citation that reflects this.

See title for reference

SWFLguy Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:02pm

From the way the situation is presented--I would have no problem
banging the runner out for interference---the fielder was making
a play on a ball--deflected or not. Thev runner must avoid contact.
At least that is what is in the mind-set of this high schoool umpire
with the recent Federation parameters !

IRISHMAFIA Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWFLguy
From the way the situation is presented--I would have no problem
banging the runner out for interference---the fielder was making
a play on a ball--deflected or not. Thev runner must avoid contact.
At least that is what is in the mind-set of this high schoool umpire
with the recent Federation parameters !

The runners job is to run to the next base. The runner cannot be expected to know a ball changed direction or have eyes in the back of their heads.

The ONLY way I can call this INT is if, in my judgment, the runner actually did something to cause the INT.

rwest Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:40pm

Exactly
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
The runners job is to run to the next base. The runner cannot be expected to know a ball changed direction or have eyes in the back of their heads.

The ONLY way I can call this INT is if, in my judgment, the runner actually did something to cause the INT.

In my opinion, that is why ASA requires intent here. But can there be obstruction? Doesn't the fielder still have a right to field the ball? Does the fact that the ball was deflected change the status of the ball from a batted ball to a deflected ball and does that mean that the fielder loses their protection? In the definition of obstruction it mentions two actions a fielder can commit that prevents the obstruction call:

1. Be in possession of the ball
2. Be in the act of fielding a BATTED BALL.

It doesn't mention a deflected ball. Are they still protected?

Could this be just a train wreck and a live ball or do we have to get either obstruction or interference?

HawkeyeCubP Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
See title for reference

Thanks rwest. Shaking the rust off.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
In my opinion, that is why ASA requires intent here. But can there be obstruction? Doesn't the fielder still have a right to field the ball? Does the fact that the ball was deflected change the status of the ball from a batted ball to a deflected ball and does that mean that the fielder loses their protection? In the definition of obstruction it mentions two actions a fielder can commit that prevents the obstruction call:

1. Be in possession of the ball
2. Be in the act of fielding a BATTED BALL.

It doesn't mention a deflected ball. Are they still protected?

Could this be just a train wreck and a live ball or do we have to get either obstruction or interference?

From the '07 ASA UIC National Meeting presentation on INT/OBS that I stole the question from, here's the ruling:

Ruling: If, in the umpire's judgement, R2 intentionally interfered with F6 playing the batted ball, R2 would be ruled out for interference. The ball is dead, R1 is returned to the last base touched at the time of interference and B3 is awarded 1B. On the other hand, if the umpire did not believe the contact to be intentional, this would be a "no call" and play continues.

So to use this and answer your last question: Train wreck. I was just shaking off the rust regarding differences between misplayed and deflected balls and runners subsequently contacting fielders making plays on said balls.

WestMichBlue Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:40am

ASA: Deflected batted ball, interference must be intentional.

NCAA: Ricochet batted ball, interference must be intentional.

NFHS 2007: Initial Play rule does not include a subsequent fielder attempting to field a batted ground ball. Therefore no protection from interference.

In all three rule sets; if a batted ball touches F5 and rolls towards F6, and in attempting to field the ball F6 makes contact with R1, obstruction is the call. (Unless you somehow think that R1 deliberately ran into F6.)

Differences:

In ASA and NCAA if the ball bounds off F1, the same rules apply.

In NFHS, if a fielder is attempting to field a ball touched by F1 they are still making an Initial Play, thus are protected against interference.

In ASA and NCAA, if a line drive bounced off F5 into the air, the same rules apply.

In NFHS, if a line drive bounced off F5 into the air and F6 had a chance to make an out (catch a fly ball) then F6 is making an Initial Play and is protected against interference.

Clear as mud?

WMB

HawkeyeCubP Thu Mar 01, 2007 01:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
In all three rule sets; if a batted ball touches F5 and rolls towards F6, and in attempting to field the ball F6 makes contact with R1, obstruction is the call. (Unless you somehow think that R1 deliberately ran into F6.)

I see your logic, but the 2007 ASA PowerPoint I just quoted disagrees with that statement. It states that there is no call either way, under ASA rules (absent intent from either player).

mcrowder Thu Mar 01, 2007 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
I see your logic, but the 2007 ASA PowerPoint I just quoted disagrees with that statement. It states that there is no call either way, under ASA rules (absent intent from either player).

I can't see how this could be correct. I understand that where you got it is about as credible source as possible, but surely this is a mistake. If the fielder is protected (as in a batted, non-deflected ball), then the runner has the obligation to avoid the fielder. Easy. If the fielder is NOT protected (as in the OP), then the fielder has an obligation to not be in the runner's basepath - period. No exception for chasing a deflected ball or errant throw or anything listed in the rulebook. I don't see any "train wreck" situation in the book at all other than the grounder being fielded right in front of the box by the catcher.

bbsbvb83 Thu Mar 01, 2007 09:17am

This is clear cut in NFHS: Obstruction.

WestMichBlue Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbsbvb83
This is clear cut in NFHS: Obstruction.

What is clear? You have multiple options with different answers.

Assuming contact between a runner and fielder:

1. If the fielder bobbles the ball and is within a step and a reach of the ball, the call is interference.

2. If the fielder bobbles the ball and has taken three steps to retrieve it, the call is obstruction.

3. If a batted ground ball deflects off the pitcher and another fielder attempts to field it, the call is interference.

4. If a batted ground ball deflects of another fielder, and a second fielder move to field it, the call is obstruction.

5. If a batted ball in the air deflects off any fielder and a second fieder moves to catch it, the call is interference.

So in five situations we have two obstruction calls and three interference calls. Of course, any deliberate action by a runner will over-rule obstruction.

WMB

argodad Thu Mar 01, 2007 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
What is clear? You have multiple options with different answers.

Assuming contact between a runner and fielder:

1. If the fielder bobbles the ball and is within a step and a reach of the ball, the call is interference.

2. If the fielder bobbles the ball and has taken three steps to retrieve it, the call is obstruction.

3. If a batted ground ball deflects off the pitcher and another fielder attempts to field it, the call is interference.

4. If a batted ground ball deflects of another fielder, and a second fielder move to field it, the call is obstruction.

5. If a batted ball in the air deflects off any fielder and a second fieder moves to catch it, the call is interference.

So in five situations we have two obstruction calls and three interference calls. Of course, any deliberate action by a runner will over-rule obstruction.

WMB

Agree. But the OP is your situation #4, so in NFHS, OBSTRUCTION is the call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1