The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2001, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Sam C has posted this on other forums...

Situation: R1(formerly B1) on 1st, B3 bats for B2 and flies out.

Defense legally appeals. Ruling: B2 is declared out on the BOO, so you have B3 out on the play, B2 out on the appeal and B4 is up with 2 outs.

I always thought that you have B3 back at the plate with the unenviable opportunity to make 2 outs in the same inning. What say you folks?


I had previously agreed with Sam here. But look at ASA Case Play 7.2-9, which isn't quite the same play, but close.

R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B, B4 scheduled to bat, B5 comes to bat and grounds into a double play, R3 is forced at 2B and B5 at 1B. Defense appeals B5 batting out of order.
RULING: All outs that occurred before the appeal are allowed. Any runners that advanced are returned to their original base. Because of the appeal, B4 is declared out for missing his turn. End result is R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, 3 outs are recorded. B6 leads off the next inning. (7-2C[2]B)


I would have put B5 first up the next inning as the next player in order after person declared out on the BOO.

What do you say about either / both of these plays?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1