The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Runner (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/31822-runner.html)

debeau Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:11pm

Runner
 
A runner is on third and never leaves third .
The catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher who now has the ball in the circle but not on the rubber.
The runner now breaks for home .
Is this legal

Dakota Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:47am

Not unless the pitcher made a play on the runner (or on another runner).

AtlUmpSteve Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by debeau
A runner is on third and never leaves third .
The catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher who now has the ball in the circle but not on the rubber.
The runner now breaks for home .
Is this legal

It is a violation of the lookback rule in the sequence you describe; that the pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle before the runner leaves the base. If the runner starts while the ball is in the air to the pitcher, that is a legal advance.

Skahtboi Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by debeau
A runner is on third and never leaves third .
The catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher who now has the ball in the circle but not on the rubber.
The runner now breaks for home .
Is this legal

And the pitcher being on the pitching plate has absolutely nothing to do with this violation. The pitcher merely has to have both feet within the circle.

CecilOne Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
It is a violation of the lookback rule in the sequence you describe; that the pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle before the runner leaves the base. If the runner starts while the ball is in the air to the pitcher, that is a legal advance.

A minor addition, if multiple runners violate, only one can be out for RCR/LBR violation. Usually the earliest one to leave the base.

shipwreck Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
And the pitcher being on the pitching plate has absolutely nothing to do with this violation. The pitcher merely has to have both feet within the circle.

Or one foot in a certain ruleset. Dave

debeau Wed Feb 14, 2007 01:07pm

Ok
Now same thing but we have a batter runner who gets a walk and advances and rounds first but doesnt stop .
The runner on third situation is the same , doesnt move off third until the B/R is half way to second and the pitcher just looks .

AtlUmpSteve Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by debeau
Ok
Now same thing but we have a batter runner who gets a walk and advances and rounds first but doesnt stop .
The runner on third situation is the same , doesnt move off third until the B/R is half way to second and the pitcher just looks .

Same answer, just one added requirement. The look-back rule goes in effect when BOTH requirements are met; the pitcher has control of the ball in the circle AND the batter-runner has reached first base. Leaving prior to either requirement is a legal advance; leaving after is a violation.

CecilOne Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by debeau
Ok
Now same thing but we have a batter runner who gets a walk and advances and rounds first but doesnt stop .
The runner on third situation is the same , doesnt move off third until the B/R is half way to second and the pitcher just looks .

As long as the BR reaches 1st and "the pitcher just looks", R1 may not leave the base. The BR can run or not, no effect on R1. Of course, the BR can violate independently, but still no effect on R1 unless R1 leaves the base or the pitcher makes/fakes a play.

debeau Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:34pm

Keep on the explanations or different points of view .
Now I need the rule reference
You can put it in as your ASA and I will match it to ISF .

The reason I put this in is for the first time in many years I did a u13 game and this happened .( I normally do Premier men and women and this doesnt happen )
As we know if you dont see something or it hasnt happened before you have to think .
Now I thought "mmmmmmm this isnt right " and thought the same as your replies but it was late in the game and one team was leading by heaps so I left it but it started preying on my mind and I went to the "experts"
after all most of you guys havnt started ball yet and you have nothing better to do than troll through rules :D

CecilOne Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by debeau
after all most of you guys havnt started ball yet and you have nothing better to do than troll through rules :D

Fortunately, we didn't have to, but that last line was a bad choice of verbs.

Skahtboi Wed Feb 14, 2007 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by debeau
Now I need the rule reference

ASA 8:7:T is the lookback rule. Also, POE....er, uh....R/S #34.

debeau Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:07pm

You are right
I didnt relate troll as to a troll in this discussion board
Should have used trawl .
But anyway thanks .
It bugged me for days:rolleyes:

Steve M Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:15pm

DeBeau - You start doing some youth games after working high levels of adult ball - and you're going to see all sorts of strange stuff. It'll be kinda fun to hear what you see in the mixture of games.

debeau Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:56pm

OK
Can I access ASA rules and POEs on line ?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1