The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2001, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
[QUOTE]Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
[B]Don,

R1 is permitted to run to 1B if s/he so desires. According to your scenario, R1 had not yet been put out at the time s/he reversed direction, hence this was not a player continuing to run after being retired with the intention of confusing the defense. The runner did nothing inappropriate or in violation of any rule.
----------------------------------------------------------
Mike,
If R1 is retreating back to 1B prior to having been put
out, then maybe s/he was trying to entice defense into
continuing to make a play. Would this be intent? Don
did say runner turned and ran back toward 1B. I agree
with rule cited and that runner must go somewhere, but
normally a retired runner coming from 1B veers towards
the outfield, or on around towards 3B. I might get a bit
nervous and look up and miss throw if I was firstbase
person and saw runners coming from both directions.

Just some other line of thought

glen

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1