![]() |
bases full, dropped 3rd. strike
Girl's fast pitch
Bases full and a dropped 3rd. strike. Must the play be made on the batter-runner going to first, or can the catcher just touch home for the force-out? |
The out anywhere counts - just touch home
|
When a batter becomes a batter-runner due to an uncaught third strike, the exact same conditions apply as if the batter became a batter-runner due to hitting a fair ground ball.
With the bases full, you have a force out at any base (I know, I know...technically not at first), or you can tag any runner with the ball. Stepping on home is a good option! |
with 2 outs of course...
|
No one ever mentions that there were 2 outs. I'm adding this in case someone new to the profession misunderstands the original post.
If there were not 2 outs in the original scenario, then the batter is immediately out. Runners could advance at their own risk, and would have to be tagged - there is no force as the batter is already out. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
<i><b>"with 2 outs of course..."</b></i>
Of course! That is why I worded my response as, "When a batter becomes a batter-runner...". By definition, that can only happen on the described play when there are...two outs! Nevertheless, a distinction worth noting for those that may not be familiar with the intricacies of the third strike rule, which I suspect most of us here are while the original poster possibly is not. <i>Sorry about that, Chief!</i> |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Its over.. nothing else to be said. Hows the weather where you are? Do you shine your plate shoes and clean your gear before you put them away for the winter, or do you clean it just before the season starts? :D |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31pm. |