The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Timing Play or not (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/29136-timing-play-not.html)

Hoosier_Dave Fri Oct 27, 2006 09:18am

Timing Play or not
 
Saw this last nite in WS and got me thinking.

R1 on 3B. 2 outs. BR bunts toward 1B. F3 picks up bunt and goes to tag BR. BR stops and a) does not move or b) backs up. F3 realizes that BR has stopped and jogs forward to tag BR. F3 crosses plate before tag in both instances.

Does the run count?

This may seem trivial to some of you, but I'm relatively new to umpiring.

tcblue13 Fri Oct 27, 2006 09:46am

The run does not count. The BR was retired before reaching first base for the 3rd out. In Softball, once the BR backs up, he is out anyway. I don't know about OBR.

BretMan Fri Oct 27, 2006 02:36pm

No runs can score when the third out is made by either: a force out, or; the batter-runner being put out before reaching first base.

And, since somebody mentioned it, in OBR the B/R is not out for retreating back toward home to avoid a tag. However, if he retreats all the way back to and past home plate he is to be declared out.

(PS: I'm sure that you mean R1 crossed the plate ahead of the tag...Not F3!)

bigsig Sat Oct 28, 2006 02:18pm

In ASA the BR is out as soon as they step back toward home plate to either avoid or delay a tag. Rule 8 Sec 2H


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1