The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Does The Run Count? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/29086-does-run-count.html)

UMPIRELARRY Wed Oct 25, 2006 07:40am

Does The Run Count?
 
This is a 16U Girls Fastpitch Softball Game. Runners on 1B and 3B with one out. Both runner tag up on a flyball, which is caught for the second out. Runner at 3B tags up properly and scores, but runner at 1B leaves too early. SITUATION #1: While ball is live, defense throws ball to 1B ahead of the runner, and the umpire calls runner out for leaving too early. Does the run from 3B count since it scored before the third out was recorded? (i.e. this isn't a force out) SITUATION #2: Defense makes a "dead ball" appeal that runner from 1B left too early, and umpire calls runner out for the third out. Does the run from 3B count since it scored before the third out was called on the appeal? THANKS.

NSABlue Wed Oct 25, 2006 07:50am

As long as the runner from 3rd base scored before the appeal was done, then YES, the run counts on both occasions.

AtlUmpSteve Wed Oct 25, 2006 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMPIRELARRY
This is a 16U Girls Fastpitch Softball Game. Runners on 1B and 3B with one out. Both runner tag up on a flyball, which is caught for the second out. Runner at 3B tags up properly and scores, but runner at 1B leaves too early. SITUATION #1: While ball is live, defense throws ball to 1B ahead of the runner, and the umpire calls runner out for leaving too early. Does the run from 3B count since it scored before the third out was recorded? (i.e. this isn't a force out) SITUATION #2: Defense makes a "dead ball" appeal that runner from 1B left too early, and umpire calls runner out for the third out. Does the run from 3B count since it scored before the third out was called on the appeal? THANKS.

As you pointed out, neither situation is a force out. Neither situation puts out the runner that scored. And neither situation puts out the runner in advance of the runner that scored.

Turn your question around. What rule would then say the run did not score?

Skahtboi Wed Oct 25, 2006 08:26am

Both of the previous posters are correct.

Just wanted to say welcome to the board UmpireLarry.

UMPIRELARRY Wed Oct 25, 2006 11:34am

Many Thanks
 
What a great site this is. Thanks so much for the clarification. I know where to come when I have a question! AND IT'S FREE!!!!!!

Skahtboi Wed Oct 25, 2006 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMPIRELARRY
What a great site this is. Thanks so much for the clarification. I know where to come when I have a question! AND IT'S FREE!!!!!!

Hey, come here and read the posts even when you don't have a question, and you may be surprised at how many questions, or comments, you suddenly have. Not to mention how much you may learn. :)

wadeintothem Wed Oct 25, 2006 09:24pm

Welcome to the board!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1