The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Illegal pitch?? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/2906-illegal-pitch.html)

TERRY1 Tue Sep 11, 2001 07:33am

r1 on 2b batter takes 3strike(not droped no attempt to go to 1b) catcher fires ball to 1b unocupied. could this be consider an illegal pitch and move r1 to 3b?

Dakota Tue Sep 11, 2001 09:17am

No (ASA)
 
Speaking ASA...

I assume you are thinking about ASA rule 6-6B which says...

<font color="blue">The catcher shall return the ball directly to the pitcher after each pitch...</font>

however, the rule lists two exceptions...

<font color="blue">...except after a strikeout.</font>

and

<font color="blue">EXCEPTION: Does not apply when the batter becomes a batter-runner <u>or there are runners on base.</u></font>

Besides, even if the exceptions do not come in to play, the effect is a ball is called, not an illegal pitch.

TERRY1 Tue Sep 11, 2001 11:29am

I was really refering to fed rules. and it was strike 3 on batter. would next batter start with 1-0 count?

SamNVa Tue Sep 11, 2001 01:15pm

Terry.

The rule for FED is basically the same as for ASA. That is, no ball is awarded if the catcher does not return the ball directly to the pitcher after a strikeout or with runners on base.

And no, the next batter does not start with a 1-0 count.

--Sam

whiskers_ump Tue Sep 11, 2001 07:50pm

RE; Illegal Pitch FED
 
Quote:

Originally posted by TERRY1
I was really refering to fed rules. and it was strike 3 on batter. would next batter start with 1-0 count?
Since Dakota and Sam have correctly answered
your question and Dakota quoted ASA rule, I
can only echo their views and add NFHS Rule
6.3.2. page 46 2001 book.

glen


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1