archangel |
Thu Oct 12, 2006 02:42pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
ASA 8.2 BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT.
B. When after hitting a fair ball the batter-runner is legally put out PRIOR to reaching first base. (My emphasis)
This means that if the ball and the runner get there at the same time, the runner MUST be safe since s/he was not retired PRIOR to reaching 1B.
As I stated before, though, many call it a different way.
Beat the ball, the call goes to the runner;
Ball beats the runner, the call goes to the defense;
Both get there at the same time, the call goes to the umpire! :D
|
No such thing as "ball and runner get there at same time"...if the BR does not touch the bag before the ball is caught--OUT!! (everytime)
|