![]() |
Is the batter-runner out?
I'm writing this as a fanboy with a question:
ASA slow-pitch rules - batter hits a popup to short right field. He starts to jog towards first, but it looks like an easy out, so he turns and starts walking back to the plate. The right fielder mis-judges it, and the popup falls in. The batter, meanwhile turns and sees the ball drop in, and runs towards first and makes it without a play. The umpire calls the batter out for "retreating towards the plate". I thought this only came into play if a play is being made on the runner? Or is it in all cases, play on the runner or not? What's the appropriate rule? Thanks. |
The batter-runner is only out if he reverses direction back toward the plate to avoid a tag. Since there was no tag being attempted here, the player should not have been called out.
|
Thank you for a real softball question. :cool:
|
Quote:
Is there a rule reference, or case? I happen to know the umpire personally, and he's also a good basketball official, so I didn't get into a discussion at the time, since I haven't been involved with umpiring ASA for several years. In fact, I just asked him about it in between innings well after the fact. I just want to help him out with a rule or case reference when I see him again next week. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41am. |