The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   FLEX unannounced (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27827-flex-unannounced.html)

Bluerotor Wed Aug 16, 2006 09:28am

FLEX unannounced
 
PONY 14U Nationals: a batter is put out for the first out of the inning after which the offensive coach walks by me (plate ump) and casually states in a barely audible voice, "I just batted my FLEX," to which I replied, “Well nobody has said anything.” FLEX batted as the 10th batter--DP was in the 7th position. The next batter, the leadoff, hits the first pitch and achieves first base. Now the defensive coach requests time and asks, “Can the runner on first can bat without any penalty?” Defensive coach also states the offense batted their FLEX. How would you rule on this situation?

Bluerotor Wed Aug 16, 2006 09:33am

FLEX unannounced
 
Next to last sentance should read, "Now the defensive coach requests time and asks, “Can the runner on first bat without any penalty?”

Dakota Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:23am

Don't know Pony rules.

The FLEX batting 10th is an illegal batter in ASA, and the protest by the defense can be made as long as the illegal player is still in the game. In ASA, this is not BOO.

mcrowder Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:26am

But Dakota, the 10th batter was put out, and the team is still batting - who can say whether the 10th batter is "still in the game" illegally or not?

bigsig Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:41am

Your first option was to correct it when the offensive coach "wispered". The Flex was an unreported/illegal sub. Since a pitch was thrown the Flex would be disqualified but replaced with another runner. Same penalty when the defensive coach raised the issue.

Dakota Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
But Dakota, the 10th batter was put out, and the team is still batting - who can say whether the 10th batter is "still in the game" illegally or not?

She's still in the lineup, isn't she? (Actually, I misread the situation... I thought she was on base.)

CecilOne Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Don't know Pony rules.

PONY rule is the same as NFHS/ASA - all copied DP/FLEX from the same source.

Woodchuck Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:48am

The rule for the DP/Flex position are the same in PONY, ASA and NFHS.

Dakota Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
PONY

I keep forgetting that the name is a backronym.

CecilOne Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
I keep forgetting that the name is a backronym.

Right, we don't want to get confused with NFed, Asa, Nsa, Usssssssaaa, or nc2a. :D

mcrowder Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigsig
Your first option was to correct it when the offensive coach "wispered".

EXACTLY - this should have been "fixed" right at that second, which, since she didn't reach base, would have no effect on the gameflow other than the DQ.

Quote:

Since a pitch was thrown the Flex would be disqualified but replaced with another runner.
2 questions: 1) Why does she have to be replaced with another runner - she's sitting in the dugout. 2) If she WAS on base - how can you replace her with another runner? If they showed up with 10, would there be a legal sub? If they had an extra, what status does the sub have, since she's entering a slot in the lineup that doesn't exist? (OK .. that's 4 questions).

Dakota Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:23pm

She could be replaced with a legal sub. That way they would keep the FLEX position in the lineup. Otherwise, they would go to 9 players in the lineup.

Dakota Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Right, we don't want to get confused with NFed, Asa, Nsa, Usssssssaaa, or nc2a. :D

I didn't say acronym. I said "backronym." ;)

AtlUmpSteve Wed Aug 16, 2006 05:00pm

There's another part of this, I believe, that no one is addressing. Yes, the FLEX was an illegal player/sub, who batted after the 9th batter, as long as the batter who is listed next, #1, isn't the DP. When leadoff hit next, rather than #2, that is also an illegal player/sub, as re-entering the game unreported in the 2nd batting position, which the defense has just appealed prior to the next pitch!!

We now have two illegal players, both of whom need be DQ'd; without a legal sub, we are playing shorthanded.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1