![]() |
Logos on uniform
Hello, I am a football official who moonlights as a softball coach (and perhaps, someday in the future, an umpire). I am hoping the expert minds here can help me with a uniform question.
Is there any prohibition against including the image of a softball in a team's logo? I know there are such rules in MLB, and football has rules against penalty flag-colored pads and gloves, but I cannot find anything in the ASA rules about the subject. I am interested in learning if any of the youth-oriented rule codes ban the inclusion of such an image. Thanks in advance. |
As long as the image is not near life-size and positioned where it would be a distraction on the pitcher or a deception on anyone, I don't know of any rule.
|
Quote:
There are no such uniform restrictions other than names/logo's of other softball associations. |
Quote:
|
If the team has a uniform with something on it, the pitcher is required, by rule, to wear the same uniform. The pitcher is not permitted to wear a different uniform.
I don't know if you consider a uniform "an item". Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying you are not correct, but how would you get around 3.6? |
There is a rule in NF and LL that prohibits a likeness of a softball on the uniform. If you ask me it's a stupid rule. If a batter or other player gets confused because there's a picture of a softball on a uniform - they should be in therapy not softball. In ASA I defer to the experts in that field (no pun intended).
|
Quote:
Would you allow a pitcher with a life-size optic yellow softball on the front of her stride foot thigh? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The uniform rule says the uniforms must be alike in color and style, not that they must be identical (although that is probably the intent). So, if the uniform includes black shorts with a life-sized optic yellow ball image on the leg of the shorts near the release point of the ball from the pitcher's hand, the pitcher may wear plain black shorts, or may wear her shorts backwards. But, the image of the softball has to go. Or, she can play shortstop. OK, coach, call the UIC for a ruling. |
Quote:
|
y'all need to remember, 6.6.B does not forbid it unless the umpire deems the "item" to be a distraction.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Damn you for hijacking... :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But... then... damn Tcblue13 for hijacking! :D |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50pm. |