![]() |
|
|
|||
I was working BU a couple of weeks ago and could offer all kinds of excuses, but the fact is I wasn't giving the game the proper attention and paid for it, mostly by humiliation.
Bases empty, batter hits a fairly routine line drive to the outfield. I see the BR heading to first, I see the throw going to second. I zone out and assume the BR will stop at first, and the throw will be caught at or near second. I start heading to get into position for the next batter. The BR sees an overthrow at second and throttles up to full steam and rounds first. His big problem is that I'm standing smack in the middle of his path. He bowls me over and I get knocked on my back, looking up at the sky. Moral of the story is obvious -- the play is not over until it's over. |
|
|||
Working a 12U fastpitch game, bases loaded, 2 outs. Forget the score, but it was close, late in the game and the team at bat was behind.
Batter swings at the dropped third strike (which passes the catcher) I call batter out, first is occupied. Realized my mistake immediately, but surprisingly coaches didn't catch the error, so I let the inning end. Saw no way to correct the error that wouldn't make one of the teams go crazy. Now, regardless of the age group, I simply call strike three. With younger kids, I usually then watch as the batter gets around the bases on errors. |
|
|||
Quote:
First, we have all made this mistake, or did a sell strike three on strike two, or similar. It points out that we failed to concentrate and lost track of the situation; happens to anyone who ever called a game. I don't think we should use that to justify not using required mechanics; we should use that to help remind ourselves that we must concentrate and keep the game situation constantly in our mind. Just as the athletes play just like they practice, umpires need to use all games working the mecahnics the same as the big championship game. Second, I wouldn't have raised the point when it happened, either. But, I would remind the coaches later in the game about that situation, and that the ball was live. The memory of the coaches wouldn't include what mechanic you used, so you could slide over your part; but, failing to make mention puts you in the category of "the other umpire" who told them the BR is out if first is occupied with 2 outs. You leave it for others to pay your penalty if you don't help educate the younger teams.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
I do remind the coaches of younger teams of the "1B occupied and less than 2 outs" rule and encourage them to communicate with their catchers. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Larry Ledbetter NFHS, NCAA, NAIA The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop. |
|
|||
Quote:
The NCAA Umpire Manual says Quote:
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
I've got 1 from yesterday.
1) 14U Championship game. I'm on the plate. R1 on 2nd. Groundball hit to shortstop. R1 interferes with the fielder attempting to field the batted ball - partner makes the call. Now we have a runner on 2nd (either a runner that started at first, or the BR - I can't remember, and it really doesn't matter for the purpose of this admission) Now the runner on 2nd is a bit confused due to the call (these are 11 yr olds, playing 12U, playing up to 14U). She's kinda off the bag, on the bag - you can just see the wheels spinning in that little head of hers. The defensive team is yelling "tag her, tag her". I'm watching... watching, yes she's off the bag and the tag is made. I give a big Sell Out on the tag. I'm then reminded by the offesive coach that we had a deadball situtation. I covered it well, by immediately telling the coach that he was right, and joking with the defensive team that they even had my going on that one.
__________________
Troy ASA/NFHS |
|
|||
The NCAA procedure
"The umpire needs to make a ruling only if there is a subsequent play, attempted play, or apparent confusion by the offense or defense after the pitch. If the batter is entitled to run, and the umpire judges that the pitch was not caught (and/or has gotten confirmation from a base umpire that it was not caught), and a play is made on the batter-runner, either the plate or first base umpire will rule on the play. If the plate umpire has judged that the pitch was caught (and/or gotten confirmation from a base umpire that it was caught) and the catcher or batter appears unsure and attempts to play, the umpire should say while signaling an out: “Batter is out.” " looks good for any rules. I especially try to do the last sentence, although I usually call the out on any caught third strike or "1st occupied" out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Loud Coach Acting the Fool | Chess Ref | Softball | 8 | Sat Mar 18, 2006 09:23am |
umpire making me look the fool | ump12 | Baseball | 11 | Thu Aug 08, 2002 01:03pm |