The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Illegal Pitch?? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27413-illegal-pitch.html)

JamesV Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:56am

Illegal Pitch??
 
This situation happened to me last night in a U-18, ASA rules last night.
R1 on 3d Base, home team at bat in a 5-5 tie game bottom of the 10th inning, -0- outs.

Batter has a count of 1-1. Pitcher starts her windup and has separated her hands to begin the pitch. As soon as she has separated her hands the batter takes two steps out of the batter's box and requests time. I say nothing.
The pitcher stops.

The 3d base coach throws his hands up, shouts illegal pitch and announces we win, game over and congratulates the batter for "a good move"

What's the call?

Andy Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JamesV
This situation happened to me last night in a U-18, ASA rules last night.
R1 on 3d Base, home team at bat in a 5-5 tie game bottom of the 10th inning, -0- outs.

Batter has a count of 1-1. Pitcher starts her windup and has separated her hands to begin the pitch. As soon as she has separated her hands the batter takes two steps out of the batter's box and requests time. I say nothing.
The pitcher stops.

The 3d base coach throws his hands up, shouts illegal pitch and announces we win, game over and congratulates the batter for "a good move"

What's the call?

No pitch....reset and do over.

Hoosier_Dave Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy
No pitch....reset and do over.

Yep. Rule 6, section 10E.

Dakota Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:26pm

JamesV, what was called?

AtlUmpSteve Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:27pm

Clearly coached; not only "no pitch", but I would certainly warn both coach and player that this tactic will result in an ejection if used again.

James V Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:31pm

I called a "no-pitch" and warned the coach that a repeat of this action would result in a ejection.
Jim

Dakota Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by James V
I called a "no-pitch" and warned the coach that a repeat of this action would result in a ejection.
Jim

http://www.clicksmilies.com/s0105/gr...smiley-003.gif

CecilOne Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by James V
I called a "no-pitch" and warned the coach that a repeat of this action would result in a ejection.
Jim

:cool: :D :cool: :D :cool:

JEL Thu Jul 13, 2006 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by James V
I called a "no-pitch" and warned the coach that a repeat of this action would result in a ejection.
Jim


And his reply?

Rattlehead Thu Jul 13, 2006 05:04pm

Due to the obvious of attempt to draw the IP couldn't you also call a strike on the batter for stepping out of the box while the pitcher is in motion.

Sorry don't have my book with me to look it up.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jul 13, 2006 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rattlehead
Due to the obvious of attempt to draw the IP couldn't you also call a strike on the batter for stepping out of the box while the pitcher is in motion.

Speaking ASA

There is no such rule. A batter may abandon the batter's box any time they choose (when not restricted between pitches). However, when the batter does that, s/he forfeits their right to hit the ball.

James V Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:29am

The coach said nothing
Jim

Mountaineer Mon Jul 17, 2006 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

There is no such rule. A batter may abandon the batter's box any time they choose (when not restricted between pitches). However, when the batter does that, s/he forfeits their right to hit the ball.

No such rule is correct - HOWEVER - if the pitcher delivers the pitch and the batter has stepped out of the box - NOW I have a strike.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 17, 2006 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mountaineer
No such rule is correct - HOWEVER - if the pitcher delivers the pitch and the batter has stepped out of the box - NOW I have a strike.

Even if it's in the dirt or obviously over the batter's head?:confused:

Mountaineer Mon Jul 17, 2006 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Even if it's in the dirt or obviously over the batter's head?:confused:

Within reason - when they leave the box, they take with them my reference for the strike zone so I have to go by my faulty memory.;)

AtlUmpSteve Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mountaineer
Within reason - when they leave the box, they take with them my reference for the strike zone so I have to go by my faulty memory.;)

Rhetorical question. Where are the top of the knees and the armpits of a batter not in the batter's box?? What are the gauges? Personally, if the ball crosses home plate in the air and doesn't reach the screen untouched, I am highly tempted to consider that a strike in this circumstance.:D :eek:

Mountaineer Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Rhetorical question. Where are the top of the knees and the armpits of a batter not in the batter's box?? What are the gauges? Personally, if the ball crosses home plate in the air and doesn't reach the screen untouched, I am highly tempted to consider that a strike in this circumstance.:D :eek:

Around here we call that the S-10 strike zone. If they can throw it in the bed of an S-10 - it's a strike!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1