The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Can same runner be put out twice? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27397-can-same-runner-put-out-twice.html)

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 12, 2006 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
So, if I understand you Mike, you are saying that 5.5-B(3) allows a 4th out appeal on a preceding runner to nullify a run, 5.5-C allows an appeal on the runner you are nullifying, but 5.5-B(1) only can keep a run from scoring on a force out of a following runner or BR not reaching 1B if it is the ONLY third out?

And, this is now the interp because 5-5.C was added to ADD that circumstance where the appeal was on the affected runner, but, instead, is being used to limit the following runners? Can I assume you are proposing a rule change or editorial revision to clarify what everyone has known all along?

Would not an appeal on a preceding runner to nullify runs most likely be a runner who also scored? Yes, I know someone is going to come up with a diabolical TWP with Dr. Evil and Mini-me involved, but I'm speaking of a general rule as a starting point.

Personally, I believe "C" should be deleted and the "Note" under 5.5.B.3 be moved and reassigned as 5.5.C.

AtlUmp Thu Jul 13, 2006 07:36pm

I might be confused here but in the OP it was stated the BR missed first and was later thrown out at 3b. I would assume then that both runners would have crossed the plate before the missed base appeal was made at 1b. Is this not a timing play and runners having scored before the appeal would be counted antway?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jul 13, 2006 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmp
I might be confused here but in the OP it was stated the BR missed first and was later thrown out at 3b. I would assume then that both runners would have crossed the plate before the missed base appeal was made at 1b. Is this not a timing play and runners having scored before the appeal would be counted antway?

No. The BR is required or "forced" to touch 1B. This is not a timing play.

John Robertson Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:51am

The game where this situation almost occurred was in Canada. I've discoverd that Softball Canada's rule book is apparently much more concise on this issue: "Additional out appeals may be made after the third out as long as they are made properly and made to remove a run." Pretty straightforward, I'd say.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1