The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 09, 2006, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefoot
Maybe this covers it:

POE: Over-Running First Base
"If a play is made at first base, but the ball is overthrown or the fielder is pulled off the base by an errant or missed throw, this also allows the batter-runner to use the white if trying to advance to second base."

F3's play to catch the ('errant') throw and tag 1B is what caused him to miss the white portion. BR touched the white portion, but was not trying to go to 2B.
That is not an errant throw. Check out ASA 8.2.M.5
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2006, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Can someone please show me where the rules say the fielder in possession of the ball must be actually making a play on the runner supposedly obstructed?

If the fielder has possession, there is no possibility of obstruction.

Fielder attempting to execute a double play: Bases loaded bottom of 7th tie score no outs situation. Priority of the defense is to prevent the score. Bunt fielded by F1. F1 has the ball but is attempting to throw out R1, and steps into the path of BR, causing BR to run wide. Throw to F2 is successful for the out, throw back to F4 covering 1st base is successful for the double play on a very close call. BR would likely have been safe had she not run wide to avoid F1. No obstruction here... F1 had the ball.

(Edited for clarity - see italicized words, above.)
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Mon Jul 10, 2006 at 02:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2006, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Can someone please show me where the rules say the fielder must be actually making a play on the runner supposedly obstructed?
My reference to making a play was wrt a double-base violation, which requires a play being made.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2006, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Can someone please show me where the rules say the fielder must be actually making a play on the runner supposedly obstructed?
Nope - because there is no rule like that. How about a runner rounding third and F5 gets in her way and makes her change her path and pace to avoid a crash - and gets thrown out at the plate? F5 was not making a play but still obstructed - runner is awarded home. Right?
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2006, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
Nope - because there is no rule like that. How about a runner rounding third and F5 gets in her way and makes her change her path and pace to avoid a crash - and gets thrown out at the plate? F5 was not making a play but still obstructed - runner is awarded home. Right?
Does F5 have the ball?

Yes - no obstruction, no award.
No - obstruction & award.

(I've edited my post just above for clarity regarding possession of the ball. Sorry if anyone misunderstood.)
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2006, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Does F5 have the ball?

Yes - no obstruction, no award.
No - obstruction & award.

(I've edited my post just above for clarity regarding possession of the ball. Sorry if anyone misunderstood.)
I KNEW I left something out. No, she's just standing there. Throw going to the plate from the outfield.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1