![]() |
Easy one
ASA (most rule sets. Part of Fed may be different)
Bases loaded, one out. B7 bats after B5 and gets a base hit to LF. R2 is thrown out at the plate while R3 rolls into 3B and BR7 into 2B. Prior to the next pitch, the defense brings the point that B6 should have been the batter. Your turn. |
R1 is returned to 3rd, R1 returned to 1st. R2 is out on the putout for out number 2. B6 who should have batted is out for out number 3. B7 leads off the next inning.
|
Quote:
R3 goes back to 3rd you meant, right? I do that all the time...damn middle age :eek: |
I think you mean R3 goes back to 1st.
|
I've studied this rule in the NFHS book enough back in April that I should know this by heart. But I don't. I'm going back to my book tonight.
However, my first question is, if R2 is out at the plate, R3 is on 3rd and BR/7 is on 2nd... where did R4 go? (or R5, one of them was on 1st when B7 entered the box, I have to assume the other is out). |
Too many numbers and letters! that's why I was never any good at algebra!
Bases loaded, 1 out would be R1 at third, R2 at second, and R3 at first. On the BOO; a. The player who should have batted is out b. Any advance of runners and any runs scored shall be nullified. All outs made stand. etc, etc, No need to send anyone back. R2 would be out #2, B6's BOO would be out #3 all other (runs, advancement) is nullified, swap 'em up! B7 will start next time. |
Quote:
|
Yes, i meant R3 back to 1st. But you will probably have to explain to the coach why the ru doesn't score, and B7 starts the nxt inning.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sumpins up his sleeve.......I'm waiting......... |
Quote:
I was called onto the field this past weekend to settle a protest. The coach insisted there was no such rule which allowed the umpire to move runners back AND keep any outs. First he told me of the protest and that he would take the ruling wherever he needed to get satisfaction. I told him in DE, that would be me. He told me he would go to whomever he had to at any level to prove this wasn't the proper call. I told him if he called ASA, they would call the regional UIC who in turn would call the state UIC.....which again would be me. Even after the game, he decided to "show off" for his team and loudly proclaimed that I cannot show him the rule in the book because it isn't there. So, I showed him the book and he loudly read 7.2.D.2.b, "Any advance of runners and any run scored shall be nullified." He refused to read the next sentence aloud, so I did, "All outs made stand." I explained to him that the defense should not be deprived of the out executed on the field because the offense screwed up. And I agree with that philosophy. Why should the defense not benefit from such a violation by the opponent since they retired a player during action unaffected by the BOO violation. |
Quote:
I would love to have been there to see that one, especially when you showed him the book! That shut him up quick. I was field umpire for 9 year olds boys baseball tournament games a couple weeks ago. The director asked me if I would like to umpire for some more tournament games coming to our town July 15th. I reminded him I haven't been calling strikes and balls but have always been umpiring for T-ball and coach-pitch. He said he was pleased with my work on the field and that's where I would be working again. BTW, I enjoyed the action that comes via base-stealing. There were several close plays without one single argument. I don't know what age group will be playing next time, but look forward to the games. Nothin' like fun at the ole' ball park! ..Take care, ..Al |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08am. |