![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
In making a ruling, the umpire may apply principles from other rules (not qute the same as "common sense"). Since this exact situation is not covered in the rules, 10-1 comes into play. A runner is not allowed to retouch a base missed or left to soon after a succeeding runner has scored. That can be extended to a principle that a runner cannot touch home to score after a succeeding runner has scored. That princple can be used in the ruling on this play with the authority of 10-1. Any time a game umpire applies 10-1 to a situation, it is clearly not expected that every game umpire would come to the same conclusion given the same situation. That is kind of the nature of 10-1.
__________________
Tom |
Bookmarks |
|
|