The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2006, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quoting the last 2 posts

"Originally Posted by Dakota
b) While jumping around, BR happened to touch the plate first but did not actually pass R2.

Which was it, alphaump?

B is correct."

That being the case, the incorrect call was made. The game should have been over with the offense winning.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2006, 07:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
Quoting the last 2 posts

"Originally Posted by Dakota
b) While jumping around, BR happened to touch the plate first but did not actually pass R2.

Which was it, alphaump?

B is correct."

That being the case, the incorrect call was made. The game should have been over with the offense winning.
Why would that be?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2006, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
ASA Rule Book, Rule 8 Batter-Runner and Runner, Section 3


F. Failure of a PRECEDING runner to touch a base or to legally tag up on a caught fly ball, and who is declared out, does not affect the status of a SUCCEEDING runner who touches the bases in proper order. If the failure to touch a base in regular order or to legally tag up on a caught fly ball is the third out of the inning, no SUCCEEDING runner may score a run.

G. No runner may return to touch a missed base
or one left too soon after a following runner has scored or one he leaves the field of play.
-----------------------------------------------------------

So by G R2 could not touch home plate once BR3 scored. Effectively, R2 "missed" home plate.

By F, since the appeal on R2 for failing to touch home plate was the third out of the inning, the succeeding runner (BR3) could not score a run.

Therefore, the ruling of a tied score & extra innings was made correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 30, 2006, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaump
Sitch; runners on 1st and 3rd, 2 outs, bottom of last inning, batting team down 1 run - batter hits home run, runner on 3rd scores, as batter and runner on 1st are rounding bases, they high five each other and in the excitement of the imminent win, the batter touches home first - the opposing team appeals - whats the call?
I witness this and it toke over 2 hours for the officials to make a call - they called the batter out, scored the runner on 1st and went to extra innings.
This is asa men only.
"...it toke over 2 hours.."

Taking a 'toke' would naturally slow things down.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1