The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 25, 2006, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy
Didn't we have a similar discussion not too long ago?

Control (out) or not?
Similar, but not the same. In that thread we talked about losing possesion of the ball after a tag and the discussion centered about how long the defender had to have the ball after the tag and before losing the ball.

In my case, the defender did not lose the ball; she bobbled the ball and then regained possession in her glove. The tag is made, the ball pops out, and the catcher dives over the runner and catches the ball before it hits the ground. Based on Mike Rowe's position in the previous thread, I believe my call of out is correct.

But then I modified the situation, asking what your call would be if the ball touched the runner before the catcher regained possession of the ball?

Is it like the ball bouncing off the CF's glove into the wall and back into the glove (ala the NCAA World Series thread a year ago)?

Or does Mike's interpretation of tag rules, as explained in the old thread, still hold sway in this case?

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1