The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Cat (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27146-cat.html)

SRW Wed Jun 21, 2006 01:08pm

Cat
 
Picking nits here a bit...and speaking ASA...

Anything wrong with this? Cite the rule(s).

http://spysoftball.com/IMG_8302copy.jpg

clodder Wed Jun 21, 2006 01:57pm

Cat
 
Her rear foot is not dragging on/touching the ground.

I don't have rulebook in hand so I can't cite the rule.

iowaump Wed Jun 21, 2006 02:16pm

Rule 6 Section 3
I. Pushing off and dragging the pivot foot in contact with the ground is required. If a hole has been created, the pivot foot may drag no higher than the level plane of the ground.

Andy Wed Jun 21, 2006 02:18pm

Post this over on the eteamz board and ask Sam.......:D

gsf23 Wed Jun 21, 2006 02:25pm

My psychic abilities must be in tune today. I knew exactly what this thread would be about before opening it. :D

tcblue13 Wed Jun 21, 2006 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gsf23
My psychic abilities must be in tune today. I knew exactly what this thread would be about before opening it. :D

I didn't
I almost didn't open it because I thought it was a cutsie story about a cat loose on a softball field that delayed play or something. :o

BuggBob Wed Jun 21, 2006 02:50pm

6.3.E (Wrist no father than the elbow) may be called but not from the angle of the photo. That leaping thing. NOBODY ever calls it on her why be the first.

Bugg

whiskers_ump Wed Jun 21, 2006 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by clodder
Her rear foot is not dragging on/touching the ground.

I don't have rulebook in hand so I can't cite the rule.

How do we know that her foot was not dragging and had bounced up slightly in this photo?

Because it is Cat, and everyone knows she does not usually drag.....

WestMichBlue Wed Jun 21, 2006 04:39pm

She is within a few hundreths of a second of releasing the ball. She has planted her stride foot and stopped her forward motion. After a legal drag, she is picking up her foot to allow her shoulders to come up and hips to close. Her foot will then set down to the side in a defensive position.

Legal. (At least based on this stop-motion photo.) But then we all know that nobody can be that good - so she must be illegal! :rolleyes:

WMB

bkbjones Wed Jun 21, 2006 05:38pm

I see nothing from this. I vote legal.

IMHO, if she were employing "leap and drag" :eek: her front foot would be out of the circle, especially since she is 6-2 or so.

NDblue Wed Jun 21, 2006 05:49pm

Isn't USA softball ASA sanctioned? If so, that rubber-band thingy on her right arm is illegal as those rubber-band thingies are considered "jewelry".

SRW Wed Jun 21, 2006 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NDblue
Isn't USA softball ASA sanctioned? If so, that rubber-band thingy on her right arm is illegal as those rubber-band thingies are considered "jewelry".

This photo is of a practice, not a game.

JEL Wed Jun 21, 2006 08:40pm

:D
Quote:

Originally Posted by NDblue
Isn't USA softball ASA sanctioned? If so, that rubber-band thingy on her right arm is illegal as those rubber-band thingies are considered "jewelry".

ASA doesn't forbid jewelry. It is left to umpires discretion as to danger or distraction.

I can't call IP from this picture. Her socks don't match F5's, gotta be something wrong there!

Mountaineer Wed Jun 21, 2006 08:47pm

Would anyone really call this in a game if that's the extent of her IP? I mean really . . . would you?

NDblue Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JEL
:D

ASA doesn't forbid jewelry. It is left to umpires discretion as to danger or distraction.

You're right and I, as a registered ASA umpire deem that rubber-band thingy is a hazard and wouldn't let her wear it so she either takes it off or doesn't play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1