The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 17, 2006, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
New Rule On This?

I was talking to a coach today and he gave me a situation that I thought was pretty straightforward until he told me he was given a different opinion by a UIC from Keller.

ASA. The batter hits a grounder to the first baseman. She bobbles it, and then trips going to first. In her haste to beat the BR, she drops the ball, picks it up in her bare hand and then touches first with her glove, before the BR gets to the base.

I told him I would have called the BR out, under these described circumstances. He then told me that the UIC told him this was a greatly debated topic and the Rules Committee came up with an result of safe on this play. Is this true? If so, what is the logic behind the decision? I know I'm probably overlooking it, but the only rule even close to this, that I can find, is 8-7-C talking about a force out on a runner.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1