![]() |
Another Batting out of Order Question
My question deals with FED rule 7.1.2 EFFECT: The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). Any other outs on the play stand. All runners who were not declared out must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch....
What would happen in the following scenario? No outs. Bases loaded. Improper batter (but NOT a batter that would otherwise follow the proper batter in the lineup) hits a single. All runners advance one base. Defense appeals before the next pitch. How do you return the runners to the base occupied at the time of the pitch, since the improper batter has forced all the preceeding runners to advance? (I am thinking specifically of R3 who should be put back on 1st base, but the improper batter is standing there). Is the improper batter removed from the bases so that the other runners can return (because she was not on a base at the time of the pitch)? |
Yes. Improper batter removed from 1B. Proper batter declared out. All other batters returned to bases at TOP.
In this case, you end up with bases loaded again (where you started), 1 out, new proper batter at the plate, improper batter now in dugout getting chewed out by coach :D |
Mom, what date is on your NFHS rule book? The wording in my 2006 book is different than what you posted. I am quoting from page 56 under 7-1-2 PENALTY (not EFFECT) starting in paragraph 2 about halfway down the page..
“The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). The improper batter’s time at bat is negated and she is returned to the bench/dugout area. All runners who were not declared out must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch.” Hence the ruling that LMan gave above. |
[QUOTE=UmpireErnie]The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the proper batter). [QUOTE]
Isn't the "batter who should have batted" and "the proper batter" the same individual? |
[QUOTE=IRISHMAFIA][QUOTE=UmpireErnie]The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the proper batter).
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Does anybody know when they changed the language of this rule? I can't find anything about a revision, but it must have happened in 2005 or 2006.
|
Quote:
WMB [email protected] |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51pm. |