The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   batting out of order? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26812-batting-out-order.html)

fan Wed May 31, 2006 09:57am

batting out of order?
 
An improper batter (someone batting out of order) completes at bat and gets out. Defensive team notices than appeals. Is the batter that failed to bat in the proper order out too?

Thanks

blu_bawls Wed May 31, 2006 10:04am

If dicovered before the next pitch (legal or illegal), the out would be recorded to the proper batter/runner and the batter immediately following the proper batter would be required to come to the plate for her turn.

fan Wed May 31, 2006 10:10am

So, the out would not be credited to the improper batter who already got out. So, only one out would come of this even though the improper batter already got out and the appeal was made before the next pitch. The out would be credited to the proper batter who failed to bat in his/her spot?

LMan Wed May 31, 2006 10:24am

Correct. The proper batter is called out, and the improper batter removed from the bases. The next batter is the one that follows the called-out batter's position in the batting order.

blu_bawls Wed May 31, 2006 10:29am

Yes
 
Yes. The correct batter (CB) would say to the improper batter (IB) as she returns to the dug out, "Thanks for hitting for me. I wish I would have been safe."

Then the next batter who follows the CB in the line up would swing away.

tcblue13 Wed May 31, 2006 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
Correct. The proper batter is called out, and the improper batter removed from the bases. The next batter is the one that follows the called-out batter's position in the batting order.

Even if it is the improper batter

CecilOne Wed May 31, 2006 10:52am

Doesn't the out stand in ASA?

LMan Wed May 31, 2006 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
Even if it is the improper batter


Yes. Its entirely possible to remove the improper batter from a base and put him/her at bat to try again.

baldgriff Wed May 31, 2006 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fan
An improper batter (someone batting out of order) completes at bat and gets out . Defensive team notices than appeals. Is the batter that failed to bat in the proper order out too?

Thanks

The improper batter made an out. Do you have an out for the play and an out for the BOO is the question.

justmom Wed May 31, 2006 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fan
So, the out would not be credited to the improper batter who already got out. So, only one out would come of this even though the improper batter already got out and the appeal was made before the next pitch. The out would be credited to the proper batter who failed to bat in his/her spot?

FED rule 7.1.2 effect: The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). Any other outs on the play stand.

LMan Wed May 31, 2006 11:04am

except that an out for BOO supersedes an out made by the batter-runner. All other outs gained on the play stand.

justmom Wed May 31, 2006 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
except that an out for BOO supersedes an out made by the batter-runner. All other outs gained on the play stand.

Not sure what you are saying here...could you reference a rule either FED or ASA?

tcblue13 Wed May 31, 2006 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
Yes. Its entirely possible to remove the improper batter from a base and put him/her at bat to try again.

That's the point I was making

LMan Wed May 31, 2006 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justmom
Not sure what you are saying here...could you reference a rule either FED or ASA?

My emphasis:

FED rule 7.1.2 EFFECT: The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). Any other outs on the play stand. All runners who were not declared out must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch....

Andy Wed May 31, 2006 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fan
An improper batter (someone batting out of order) completes at bat and gets out. Defensive team notices than appeals. Is the batter that failed to bat in the proper order out too?

Thanks

Short answer to original question:

In ASA - yes
In NFHS - no

Not sure about the rest of the alphabet soup (NSA, USSSA, AFA, USFA, etc...)

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 31, 2006 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
except that an out for BOO supersedes an out made by the batter-runner. All other outs gained on the play stand.

Not in ASA.

fan Wed May 31, 2006 01:35pm

Are Fed rules the same thing as NFHS? I can only find in NFHS rules that the batter who should have batted is out (under proper appeal) and the imporper batter's time at bat is negated and she is returned to the dugout/bench area. So, I am assuming the improper batter's at bat whether out or a hit is cancelled and the batter who should have batted is out?

tcblue13 Wed May 31, 2006 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fan
Are Fed rules the same thing as NFHS?

Yes

Quote:

I can only find in NFHS rules that the batter who should have batted is out (under proper appeal) and the improper batter's time at bat is negated and she is returned to the dugout/bench area. So, I am assuming the improper batter's at bat whether out or a hit is cancelled and the batter who should have batted is out?
Provided a pitch, legal or illegal, has not been delivered to the next batter

Dakota Wed May 31, 2006 02:10pm

You guys sure have this all twisted around the axle.

Speaking ASA and NFHS (aka Fed; aka high school).

In BOO, for a penalty to be applied, the appeal must be made after the improper batter has completed her turn at bat but before a pitch to the next batter.

If properly appealed, no advance of any runner due to the improper batter becoming a BR will stand. The proper batter is declared out. All outs recorded on other runners will stand. ("other runners" means other than the improper batter)

Speaking ASA: Any out recorded on the improper batter during the play will stand.

Speaking NFHS: Any out recorded on the improper batter during the play does not stand.

UmpireErnie Wed May 31, 2006 02:23pm

To expound a bit as this is a big difference between ASA and NFHS (High School) rules:

If BOO is appealed at end of Improper Batter’s (IB) time at bat and before next pitch etc. then…

In NFHS: the IB’s out or her existence on base goes “poof”. She is erased. But any other outs that were made on the IB’s turn at bat stand. Any other runners who advanced on the last pitch of the IB’s time at bat are returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. The batter who should have batted is out for BOO.

In ASA: all the outs made on the IB’s time at bat stand. If the IB is on base she goes “poof” but she is not an out. She is erased. All other runners return to the base occupied at the time of the last pitch of IB’s turn at bat. Just like NHFS, the batter who should have batted is out for BOO.

Example: R1 on 1B, no out. B3 bats in B2s turn. B3 hits ground ball to F6 who plays to F4 who relays to F3 to complete the double play. Def coach requests time and appeals BOO.

NFHS Ruling: B3 and her out are erased. R1’s out stands. B2 is declared out for BOO. Two outs. B3 bats again.

ASA Ruling: All outs on the time at bat stand, any advance (none in this case) would be nullified. B2 is declared out for BOO. Three outs. B3 is the proper batter in the next inning.

Reading the Little League Softball rule on BOO (6.07) I come away with the interpretation that they mimic ASA although it is worded differently. 6.07(b)2 says nullify any advance or score, but nowhere does it say to nullify any outs. More learned LL colleagues, what say you?

Anyone with answers on other flavors? NCAA?

tcblue13 Wed May 31, 2006 03:00pm

Additionally in Fed all outs and Advances made during the IB not resulting from the IB's actions shall stand

At least that is the way I read it

IB looks at 3k
R1 steals second
Defense appeals
Player who failed to bat out
R1 stays at 2B

IB grounds to F4 with R1 stealing
Steal becomes force F4 throws IBR out
Defense appeals
Player who failed to bat out
Out on IBR at first negated
R1 returns to first

Dakota Wed May 31, 2006 03:07pm

We're starting to wrap the axle again.

The only difference between NFHS and ASA on BOO is what happens to any out recorded against the improper batter. In ASA, the out stands. In NFHS, the out does not stand.

In both rule sets, the only advances by runners that are brought back are those due to the improper batter becoming a BR, and the play resulting from that. This includes advances by the improper batter herself. She is removed from any base she may have aquired during the play.

In both rule sets, advances by runners unrelated to the improper batter becoming a BR (such as a stolen base) stand.

tcblue13 Wed May 31, 2006 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
We're starting to wrap the axle again.


At least we are wrapping it in the same direction:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1