![]() |
Fair or Foul?
I know this is going to sound like a stupid question but I have to back up my point and I figured I would ask the group of knowledgeable umpires on here.
I work for a Park & Rec league in the summer and we went over umpiring rules this morning. The question came up if the batter's boxes were fair or foul territory. Some people were saying that the foul lines extend through the box and anything in front is obviously fair, etc. And then a few individuals felt that the entire box was foul, regardless of where in the box the ball lies. Now how I take it, reading the definition of a fair ball in the rule book, as long as the ball is in front of the line, its fair. Yes? Any other mention of this ruling in the rule book? |
The front corner of both boxes is in fair territory. This part is on the infield side of the foul line, which runs from the outside of 1st/3rd base to the rear corner of home plate. A batted ball first touched by a fielder there or which comes to rest there is a fair ball.
OTOH, it is still the batter's box, so a batted ball that contacts the batter while she is still in the batter's box is a foul ball. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
ASA: But it's a dead ball, not a foul ball. 7-4-G-Effect |
Quote:
|
Thank you! Exactly what I was thinking, but you placed it in so much better wording than I could have managed.
|
Quote:
Where have you been all season? |
Quote:
A dead ball is not necessarily a foul ball. I think we're both right... :) :rolleyes: |
Quote:
A batted fly ball that is bobbled, but not yet caught, in foul territory by the defense is a foul ball that is not a dead ball, isn't it? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I know I'm being nitpicky, but follow me here - there is a period of time between when a batted, fly ball is first touched over foul territory by a fielder, and when it is finally caught when it is bobbled by said fielder or fielders. During that time, it is officially a foul ball, as it's been touched by a "person/object foreign to the ground" (Foul Ball - C), but it is not yet a dead ball, as the ball is still in play, and runners may tag and advance on that first contact, and advancement stands if the ball is eventually caught. Correct?
I have to imagine that is at least one reason the word "dead" does not appear in the definition of a foul ball. |
I've been busy between a 60 game softball schedule and trying to keep up with 17 credit hours. Also trying to remember why I decided to go pre-med...:eek:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It is also still a fair ball if it is first touched or comes to rest ON the line. The line itself is included in fair territory. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32am. |