The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   TWP - 2 on same base (ASA) (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26741-twp-2-same-base-asa.html)

Dakota Fri May 26, 2006 11:01am

TWP - 2 on same base (ASA)
 
:D ASA rules (since NFHS makes it too easy).

Bases loaded. Bunted ball. Fielded too late for a play on BR. BR on 1st. R3 and R2 advance, but R1 does not. Ball back to F1. Nobody does anything.

(cue the Jepopardy music...buzzer sounds...) Now what? :D

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 26, 2006 11:15am

This one, we have to wait forever; until someone makes a play. This is a case where a force play exists, and by calling time, we can neither award the base not yet reached, nor leave R1 where R1 is.

Stand to the side, keep pointing fair, keep the on deck batter out of play, refuse any request for time out ...... , and wait. It may take a moment, or two, or more, but someone will figure this one out.

Skahtboi Fri May 26, 2006 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
...but someone will figure this one out.

We hope! :D

CecilOne Fri May 26, 2006 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
This one, we have to wait forever; until someone makes a play. This is a case where a force play exists, and by calling time, we can neither award the base not yet reached, nor leave R1 where R1 is.

Stand to the side, keep pointing fair, keep the on deck batter out of play, refuse any request for time out ...... , and wait. It may take a moment, or two, or more, but someone will figure this one out.

This is what I was thinking in that 2 runners on 2nd topic.

mcrowder Fri May 26, 2006 01:17pm

Cecil, in the other topic, offense does not have a legal remedy - R1 would be out for LBR if she returned to 1st. In this one, however, play has not yet finished.

I would like to hear from Mike on this one as to why, (rulewise), if R1 stayed on first and the ball came to the circle, that we would not rule R1 out when she finally did start running to 2nd.

Dakota Fri May 26, 2006 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
...if R1 stayed on third and the ball came to the circle, that we would not rule R1 out when she finally did start running to home.

Ahem... softball. ;)

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 26, 2006 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
:D ASA rules (since NFHS makes it too easy).

Bases loaded. Bunted ball. Fielded too late for a play on BR. BR on 1st. R3 and R2 advance, but R1 does not. Ball back to F1. Nobody does anything.

(cue the Jepopardy music...buzzer sounds...) Now what? :D

As the umpire, you stand behind the plate and call the pitcher to come to you. When she steps on the plate, you call the out!!!!! :eek:

Serious, I'm right with Steve on this. The umpire cannot safely advance a runner to an base not earned. There is no rule to allow the umpire to proceed in any manner other than waiting for a play. BTW, while standing to the side, I'm going to be staring at 3B If either coach says anything as to why the delay, I'll just tell them, "Just waiting, Coach".

Or you can call to the 3B coach, "Yo, coach. What's that on your runner's back?" When s/he touches her to look, BANG!, runner assistance.

TwoBits Fri May 26, 2006 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
:D ASA rules (since NFHS makes it too easy).
:D

What's the NFHS ruling? Seems like I've read that the umpire calls time and fixes the situation. Am I right?

TwoBits Fri May 26, 2006 02:01pm

Never mind...just read the answer on another thread.

Dakota Fri May 26, 2006 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
What's the NFHS ruling? Seems like I've read that the umpire calls time and fixes the situation. Am I right?

After a reasonable time waiting on a play, the umpire kills the play and declares the runner (R1) out. Case play 8.3.3-B, although I posted this one mostly for fun and I'm not 100% sure the NFHS case play applies to a force situation (the case play was with multiple runners on base, a trailing runner steals, but the runner ahead stays put, resulting in 2 runners on the same base).

SC Ump Fri May 26, 2006 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
This one, we have to wait forever;

So, you wait.... R1 still at third.... pitcher still with the ball in the circle not making a play... and FINALLY, R1 realizes and leaves 3rd base to run home.

Is it a dead ball with R1 declared out on the LBR?

tcblue13 Fri May 26, 2006 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump
So, you wait.... R1 still at third.... pitcher still with the ball in the circle not making a play... and FINALLY, R1 realizes and leaves 3rd base to run home.

Is it a dead ball with R1 declared out on the LBR?

I wouldn't think that LBR applies since she is forced to go home

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 26, 2006 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump
So, you wait.... R1 still at third.... pitcher still with the ball in the circle not making a play... and FINALLY, R1 realizes and leaves 3rd base to run home.

Is it a dead ball with R1 declared out on the LBR?

No. The action caused by a batted ball has yet to be resolved.

UmpireErnie Fri May 26, 2006 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
No. The action caused by a batted ball has yet to be resolved.

Mike, that seems to conflict with the verbiage in the LBR. “..will be in effect when the ball is live for all runners , the BR has touched 1B and F1 has possession…in the circle”.

It does not say “until all runners have reached the base to which forced or have been put out”.

So if the LBR is in effect, and R1 is on a base (the base she is being forced to vacate) when F1 receives the ball in the circle then R1 cannot per 8-7-T-2 leave that base.

I understand the logic that since the runner never ran, the play is not over. But the rules seem to have this runner trapped. The way the words read, it sounds like R1 must now wait for the defense to begin making a play on her before she tries to advance to avoid the LBR.

Is the interpretation basically that R1 is not “on a base” if she is standing on a base she is forced to vacate? But then if that is true you could call her out for standing on the base she needs to vacate on an LBR violation as soon as the ball is in the circle and the runner is not running.

In the other “2 runners on one base” play with two runners on 2B, where there was no force and F1 has the ball in the circle then the trail runner decides to run back to 1B we had determined that would be an LBR out. Why are these two different under the LBR?

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 26, 2006 05:07pm

The interpretation, as I understand it, Ernie, is that F1 is not yet a pitcher as long as runners are required to advance on the batted ball; F1 has the same status as any other defensive player in this case, one who is making a play (sooner or later, in this case).

Using that interpretation, the LBR cannot yet be in affect in this case. In the other play, no runner is required to advance.

Similarly, when F1 fields a batted ball, she is not immediately a pitcher; there is a presumption that runners that must advance, may, and runners that must return, may.

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 27, 2006 06:35am

Remember the subject line here, folks, TWP.

Ernie, what happens when the B becomes a BR and bases are loaded? Each runner is FORCED to advance (1-FORCE OUT). To retire a runner forced, the base to which they are forced is touched by a player in possession of the ball or that runner is tagged with the ball or glove containing the ball. (8.7.C)

The scenario is that of a batted ball forcing all runners to advance to the next base. The umpire cannot call time because that would facilitate R1 advancing to the plate and deny the defense the opportunity to retire that runner. You cannot allow the pitcher to pitch with four runners on three bases.

Steve has supplied the only remedy available in this scenario.

UmpireErnie Sat May 27, 2006 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Remember the subject line here, folks, TWP.

TWP

This Weird Play?
Typical Wednesday Problem?
This Will Perplex?

Sorry I have never heard the acronym TWP used in softball.

Dakota Sat May 27, 2006 10:14am

"Third World Play" = a play very unlikely to happen, but which tests the boundaries of the rules in some way.

UmpireErnie Sat May 27, 2006 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
The scenario is that of a batted ball forcing all runners to advance to the next base. The umpire cannot call time because that would facilitate R1 advancing to the plate and deny the defense the opportunity to retire that runner. You cannot allow the pitcher to pitch with four runners on three bases.

I guess this is a useless conversation becuase I don't see either of these situations happening (two people on one base while the defense does nothing about it).

But we have two answers if there are two runners on base and the defense does not care to play on them and instead holds the ball in the circle. Assume bases loaded no out and a base hit:

Play 1 - BR ends up on 1B, R3 and R2 both on 3B, and R1 scored. All runners have advanced to or past the base they were forced to. If the ball is being held in the circle and R2 finally dcecided to go back to 2B we ring up an LBR out.

Play 2- BR ends up on 1B, R3 on 2B. R1 scores. R2 never moves from 2B even though forced. The ball is being held in the circle and R2 and R3 are both on the base. Finally R2 decided to go to 3B. Becuase she is forced we ignore the LBR and allow play to continue.

Basically I guess there is just another requirement to the LBR being in effect that is not stated in the rules. The BR must reach 1B and all runners must reach the base to which they were forced. But does this assumed requirement only apply to that runner who is forced? The LBR should be either on or off not on for some runners and off for others, right?

So if we are going to get into fantasticly strange plays that will only happen in low level ball.... What if two Rs end up on 1B with another on 3B. The ball is held in the circle. R1 the runner in 1B who should have went to 2B finally does run. We do nothing becuase this runner is forced so no LBR. Now the runner on 3B seeing her teammate running, decides this is a fine idea and starts running also. Still no play from F1. Still no LBR out???

CecilOne Sat May 27, 2006 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie
... snip ... What if two Rs end up on 1B with another on 3B. The ball is held in the circle. R1 the runner in 1B who should have went to 2B finally does run. We do nothing becuase this runner is forced so no LBR. Now the runner on 3B seeing her teammate running, decides this is a fine idea and starts running also. Still no play from F1. Still no LBR out???

R1 (3rd base) is out on LBR.

CecilOne Sat May 27, 2006 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie
... snip ...
Basically I guess there is just another requirement to the LBR being in effect that is not stated in the rules. The BR must reach 1B and all runners must reach the base to which they were forced. But does this assumed requirement only apply to that runner who is forced? The LBR should be either on or off not on for some runners and off for others, right?
...snip...

Which rule sets say "all runners must reach the base to which they were forced" If that is the rule, then those play responses are correct.

AtlUmpSteve Sat May 27, 2006 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
R1 (3rd base) is out on LBR.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Which rule sets say "all runners must reach the base to which they were forced" If that is the rule, then those play responses are correct.

If the interpretation that allows R2 to advance because she is forced is that F1 is not yet a pitcher under that circumstance, then the LBR cannot be in effect for any runner.

Consider it a reasonable and logical extension of the requirement that BR reach 1B; F1 is simply another defender in possession of the ball until that point. Admittedly, I don't believe any ruleset says that, exactly; but there is no more consistent ruling based on intent and interpretations, IMO.

noobie Tue May 30, 2006 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Or you can call to the 3B coach, "Yo, coach. What's that on your runner's back?" When s/he touches her to look, BANG!, runner assistance.

Laughing my *** off :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1