The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
This one, we have to wait forever;
So, you wait.... R1 still at third.... pitcher still with the ball in the circle not making a play... and FINALLY, R1 realizes and leaves 3rd base to run home.

Is it a dead ball with R1 declared out on the LBR?
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump
So, you wait.... R1 still at third.... pitcher still with the ball in the circle not making a play... and FINALLY, R1 realizes and leaves 3rd base to run home.

Is it a dead ball with R1 declared out on the LBR?
I wouldn't think that LBR applies since she is forced to go home
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump
So, you wait.... R1 still at third.... pitcher still with the ball in the circle not making a play... and FINALLY, R1 realizes and leaves 3rd base to run home.

Is it a dead ball with R1 declared out on the LBR?
No. The action caused by a batted ball has yet to be resolved.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
No. The action caused by a batted ball has yet to be resolved.
Mike, that seems to conflict with the verbiage in the LBR. “..will be in effect when the ball is live for all runners , the BR has touched 1B and F1 has possession…in the circle”.

It does not say “until all runners have reached the base to which forced or have been put out”.

So if the LBR is in effect, and R1 is on a base (the base she is being forced to vacate) when F1 receives the ball in the circle then R1 cannot per 8-7-T-2 leave that base.

I understand the logic that since the runner never ran, the play is not over. But the rules seem to have this runner trapped. The way the words read, it sounds like R1 must now wait for the defense to begin making a play on her before she tries to advance to avoid the LBR.

Is the interpretation basically that R1 is not “on a base” if she is standing on a base she is forced to vacate? But then if that is true you could call her out for standing on the base she needs to vacate on an LBR violation as soon as the ball is in the circle and the runner is not running.

In the other “2 runners on one base” play with two runners on 2B, where there was no force and F1 has the ball in the circle then the trail runner decides to run back to 1B we had determined that would be an LBR out. Why are these two different under the LBR?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 26, 2006, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
The interpretation, as I understand it, Ernie, is that F1 is not yet a pitcher as long as runners are required to advance on the batted ball; F1 has the same status as any other defensive player in this case, one who is making a play (sooner or later, in this case).

Using that interpretation, the LBR cannot yet be in affect in this case. In the other play, no runner is required to advance.

Similarly, when F1 fields a batted ball, she is not immediately a pitcher; there is a presumption that runners that must advance, may, and runners that must return, may.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 06:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Remember the subject line here, folks, TWP.

Ernie, what happens when the B becomes a BR and bases are loaded? Each runner is FORCED to advance (1-FORCE OUT). To retire a runner forced, the base to which they are forced is touched by a player in possession of the ball or that runner is tagged with the ball or glove containing the ball. (8.7.C)

The scenario is that of a batted ball forcing all runners to advance to the next base. The umpire cannot call time because that would facilitate R1 advancing to the plate and deny the defense the opportunity to retire that runner. You cannot allow the pitcher to pitch with four runners on three bases.

Steve has supplied the only remedy available in this scenario.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Remember the subject line here, folks, TWP.
TWP

This Weird Play?
Typical Wednesday Problem?
This Will Perplex?

Sorry I have never heard the acronym TWP used in softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
"Third World Play" = a play very unlikely to happen, but which tests the boundaries of the rules in some way.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
The scenario is that of a batted ball forcing all runners to advance to the next base. The umpire cannot call time because that would facilitate R1 advancing to the plate and deny the defense the opportunity to retire that runner. You cannot allow the pitcher to pitch with four runners on three bases.
I guess this is a useless conversation becuase I don't see either of these situations happening (two people on one base while the defense does nothing about it).

But we have two answers if there are two runners on base and the defense does not care to play on them and instead holds the ball in the circle. Assume bases loaded no out and a base hit:

Play 1 - BR ends up on 1B, R3 and R2 both on 3B, and R1 scored. All runners have advanced to or past the base they were forced to. If the ball is being held in the circle and R2 finally dcecided to go back to 2B we ring up an LBR out.

Play 2- BR ends up on 1B, R3 on 2B. R1 scores. R2 never moves from 2B even though forced. The ball is being held in the circle and R2 and R3 are both on the base. Finally R2 decided to go to 3B. Becuase she is forced we ignore the LBR and allow play to continue.

Basically I guess there is just another requirement to the LBR being in effect that is not stated in the rules. The BR must reach 1B and all runners must reach the base to which they were forced. But does this assumed requirement only apply to that runner who is forced? The LBR should be either on or off not on for some runners and off for others, right?

So if we are going to get into fantasticly strange plays that will only happen in low level ball.... What if two Rs end up on 1B with another on 3B. The ball is held in the circle. R1 the runner in 1B who should have went to 2B finally does run. We do nothing becuase this runner is forced so no LBR. Now the runner on 3B seeing her teammate running, decides this is a fine idea and starts running also. Still no play from F1. Still no LBR out???

Last edited by UmpireErnie; Sat May 27, 2006 at 10:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie
... snip ... What if two Rs end up on 1B with another on 3B. The ball is held in the circle. R1 the runner in 1B who should have went to 2B finally does run. We do nothing becuase this runner is forced so no LBR. Now the runner on 3B seeing her teammate running, decides this is a fine idea and starts running also. Still no play from F1. Still no LBR out???
R1 (3rd base) is out on LBR.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 27, 2006, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie
... snip ...
Basically I guess there is just another requirement to the LBR being in effect that is not stated in the rules. The BR must reach 1B and all runners must reach the base to which they were forced. But does this assumed requirement only apply to that runner who is forced? The LBR should be either on or off not on for some runners and off for others, right?
...snip...
Which rule sets say "all runners must reach the base to which they were forced" If that is the rule, then those play responses are correct.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I off base here ? Chess Ref Basketball 15 Thu Feb 16, 2006 03:04pm
what's base is your favorite base to pay? softballbabe14 Softball 5 Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:01pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
first base safety base sneallyk Baseball 3 Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1