The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   10U ASA Question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26552-10u-asa-question.html)

Dakota Tue May 16, 2006 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
Dakota, I respect your opinion to disagree, and admit that this is grey area no matter which way you rule.

Likewise, mcrowder.

mcrowder Tue May 16, 2006 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Short of missing a base or leaving the base too soon at 3B, there is no, zero, nada, zilch, zippo, no reason for the runner to attempt to return to home or third base by either runner. However, ASA has determined that should the runner at first choose to return toward the plate, she is now in jeopardy. So, why wouldn't this apply to a runner coming home and for some strange and unknown reason head back toward third (assume with a sense of urgency, not just walking toward a 3rd base dugout.

I'm pretty sure we've discussed this before (and am pretty sure you came down on the same side of the conversation I'm espousing here... but I'll do some digging to see if I can find it) that a runner who has scored, and has no further baserunning obligations (such as a missed third base or leaving early on a catch), cannot "unscore" by retreating up the basepath. A "runner who has scored" has a different status than just "a runner" (one example of this would be that one is not allowed to assist a runner, the other is). Let me ask again, just to clarify your position. Assume 14U, R1 scores from third (no leaving early or missed base), and then for some reason runs back to third base - are you leaving her on third?

Quote:

BTW, speaking of scoring in ASA, please tell me why a player cannot touch 3rd base, realized s/he missed second, return and touch it and then run directly to the plate to score.
I don't see the relevance, but I'll answer, assuming you will tell me how this is relevant...

I don't have the book in front of me, but the rules do say a runner must touch the bases in order. I can look it up when I get back to my car if I need to.

Skahtboi Tue May 16, 2006 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Likewise, mcrowder.

Wow! This really is warmfuzzyday!:D

Dakota Tue May 16, 2006 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Wow! This really is warmfuzzyday!:D

Hey, Scott... you suck!


(feel better now?) ;)

Skahtboi Tue May 16, 2006 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Hey, Scott... you rock!


(feel better now?) ;)

Uh....gee....no Tom, I really don't. Just when I thought you were becoming the OF Goodwill Ambassador! ;)

Dakota Tue May 16, 2006 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Uh....gee....no Tom, I really don't. Just when I thought you were becoming the OF Goodwill Ambassador! ;)

Just trying to bring some balance! :D

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 16, 2006 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder

I don't have the book in front of me, but the rules do say a runner must touch the bases in order. I can look it up when I get back to my car if I need to.

Let me know when you find it.

Dakota Tue May 16, 2006 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
BTW, speaking of scoring in ASA, please tell me why a player cannot touch 3rd base, realized s/he missed second, return and touch it and then run directly to the plate to score.

She can. She is in jeopardy of being ruled out on appeal, however.

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 17, 2006 06:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
She can. She is in jeopardy of being ruled out on appeal, however.

Citation please

Skahtboi Wed May 17, 2006 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Citation please

Why? Were you speeding? :D

Dakota Wed May 17, 2006 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Citation please

8-7-G (2005) - don't have my 2006 book with me.

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 17, 2006 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
8-7-G (2005) - don't have my 2006 book with me.

That is only out on appeal. In my scenario, an appeal is not available.

Dakota Wed May 17, 2006 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
That is only out on appeal. In my scenario, an appeal is not available.

I said "on appeal" before. Why is an appeal not available in your scenario? I must be missing something.

mcrowder Wed May 17, 2006 10:35am

Irish is being intentionally cryptic, and we are obviously not following. What are you really trying to say, Mike, and how does apply to this situation? At this moment, it seems like a) a non-sequitur, and b) an incorrect assessment in and of itself. I'm sure I'm missing something.

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 17, 2006 10:56am

My point is that there is nothing in ASA's rule book that states the runner must touch first, second third and home base IN THAT ORDER.

5.5.A only says a run will be scored each time a player touches all of those bases.

However, we all KNOW the right order and rule on appeals when a runner fails to touch the bases in that order.

So, if a batter puts the ball into play and circles the bases in what we know as the reverse order, are we going to automatically rule the player out?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1