The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Double Base - Foul Territory (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26505-double-base-foul-territory.html)

tzme415 Thu May 11, 2006 02:16pm

Double Base - Foul Territory
 
ASA Men's 12" SP - Double Base at 1B

Batter hits a hot shot to F3 - Ball bounces off F3 into foul territory - F3 retrieves ball and dives back touching orange (foul) side of bag just ahead of BR - I call BR "OUT" - Get big argument that the fielder cannot use orange part of bag, but as I read the rule the fielder can use the orange part when making a play from foul territory.

Was I correct?

Dakota Thu May 11, 2006 02:25pm

Correctomundo. (This board does not allow me to simply type "Correct." Says the post is too short. OOO board.)

AtlUmpSteve Thu May 11, 2006 02:36pm

Correct ruling. Force play made from foul territory.

SC Ump Thu May 11, 2006 04:19pm

Yeah? Oh, I guess you are right.

tcblue13 Thu May 11, 2006 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump
Yeah? Oh, I guess you are right.

I guess he is:)

rodan55 Thu May 11, 2006 10:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Correctomundo. (This board does not allow me to simply type "Correct." Says the post is too short. OOO board.)

Affirmative. You are CORRECT!!

TwoBits Fri May 12, 2006 08:05am

Just to clarify: This is not the case in NFHS. The defense may only use the orange portion of the base if a thrown from foul ground or if an errant or missed throw pulls the defensive player into foul ground. 8-10-2.

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 12, 2006 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
Just to clarify: This is not the case in NFHS. The defense may only use the orange portion of the base if a thrown from foul ground or if an errant or missed throw pulls the defensive player into foul ground. 8-10-2.

Seems to me that is exactly what everyone stated.

Dakota Fri May 12, 2006 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
Just to clarify: This is not the case in NFHS. The defense may only use the orange portion of the base if a thrown from foul ground or if an errant or missed throw pulls the defensive player into foul ground. 8-10-2.

Editorial comment: NFHS needs to get serious about the double base, or just forget it entirely. They have been sneaking up on it for years. They finally moved it into the rule book proper, but left it as by state association adoption. I don't know if that means they also do not think it completely through, but if your interp is correct for NFHS (I agree it is how the rule reads), then I guess they want the players crossing paths in this situation.

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 12, 2006 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Editorial comment: NFHS needs to get serious about the double base, or just forget it entirely. They have been sneaking up on it for years. They finally moved it into the rule book proper, but left it as by state association adoption. I don't know if that means they also do not think it completely through, but if your interp is correct for NFHS (I agree it is how the rule reads), then I guess they want the players crossing paths in this situation.

I wouldn't doubt that the reason the Fed is slow moving to completely accept it is because they fear "forcing" schools to buy new equipment and the thousand excuses why it cannot happen here or there.

TwoBits Fri May 12, 2006 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Seems to me that is exactly what everyone stated.

The thread started with the situation of a batted ball bouncing off F3 into foul territory. According to NFHS rules, the use of the orange bag by the defense is only mentioned along with a throw by the defense.

CecilOne Fri May 12, 2006 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
The thread started with the situation of a batted ball bouncing off F3 into foul territory. According to NFHS rules, the use of the orange bag by the defense is only mentioned along with a throw by the defense.

I guess that's like the difference between an overthrow and the ball getting away from a fielder making a play.

CecilOne Fri May 12, 2006 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Editorial comment: NFHS needs to get serious about the double base, or just forget it entirely. They have been sneaking up on it for years. They finally moved it into the rule book proper, but left it as by state association adoption. I don't know if that means they also do not think it completely through, but if your interp is correct for NFHS (I agree it is how the rule reads), then I guess they want the players crossing paths in this situation.

Let's write a rule, preferably copied verbatim from PONY except saying "foul-side, outside or colored" instead of "orange" and add it to the list WMB was going to present.

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 12, 2006 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
The thread started with the situation of a batted ball bouncing off F3 into foul territory. According to NFHS rules, the use of the orange bag by the defense is only mentioned along with a throw by the defense.

What can I say, you're dealing with NFHS

ChuckElias Fri May 12, 2006 09:22pm

Could someone briefly explain what the orange base is? My 10-year-old daughter is playing softball for the first time and I've never seen the "double" base at first before. And, of course, I was asked to coach first base last game.

What is its purpose? Is either part supposed to be in foul territory? Does the runner have to stay on the white part? If not, doesn't that give them an extra step toward second base? Can the ball pass over either part and still be fair?

I know nothing here, so help me out please? Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1