![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
At the point the first pitch is thrown to B1's second at bat, B9's at bat is legal, meaning B1 is the legitimate batter. Up to now, if anything was to be done, it required an appeal from the defense. B1 gets on base and the coach requests a CR. This should cause PU to get out his line up card and notice that: B1 had already had one CR during this inning, and that CR is still on base. While BOO requires an appeal, illegal substitute does not. However, to ding B1 as an illegal sub, the umpire would need to have noticed this before B9's at bat became legal. Since B9's at bat is legal, the next player due up is B1, so she is not substituting for anyone - she is batting for herself in her legal position in the order. B1 is not re-entering for her CR, she has just completed a new, legal, at bat. I think this is a nothing. Even if the defense now appeals, there is nothing to appeal. The team just got away with skipping the bottom of their order (except for B9, of course). What do you think?
__________________
Tom |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Courtesy Runner | rocker45 | Softball | 14 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:03am |
Courtesy Runner | U_of_I_Blue | Softball | 11 | Sat Jun 25, 2005 10:01pm |
Courtesy Runner | Gemini | Baseball | 2 | Tue Mar 23, 2004 11:44pm |
Courtesy Runner | Dukat | Softball | 6 | Mon Nov 17, 2003 05:22pm |
Courtesy Runner | pollywolly60 | Softball | 3 | Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:47am |