The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Unreported substitute (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26222-unreported-substitute.html)

rwest Mon Apr 24, 2006 03:43pm

Unreported substitute
 
If B10 is subbing in for B1 but is unreported and the defense appeals while they are at bat, what is the penalty? The ASA rulebook doesn't mention this scenario in Rule 4.6.C.

My guess is that B10 is disqualified, all play stands (outs, runners advanced), and B1 should assume the ball/strike count. What if B1 has exhausted her re-entries and thus is ineligible to return? B10 is replaced by a valid sub, correct? What if they don't have a valid sub? I would guess we have an out. Is my thinking on this correct?

Thanks!

IRISHMAFIA Mon Apr 24, 2006 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
If B10 is subbing in for B1 but is unreported and the defense appeals while they are at bat, what is the penalty? The ASA rulebook doesn't mention this scenario in Rule 4.6.C.

My guess is that B10 is disqualified, all play stands (outs, runners advanced), and B1 should assume the ball/strike count. What if B1 has exhausted her re-entries and thus is ineligible to return? B10 is replaced by a valid sub, correct? What if they don't have a valid sub? I would guess we have an out. Is my thinking on this correct?

Thanks!

How can B10 sub for B1? A player already in the line-up cannot be a sub.

David Emerling Tue Apr 25, 2006 02:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
How can B10 sub for B1? A player already in the line-up cannot be a sub.

I think he just messed with the nomenclature. I assume he means that "B10" was a legal substitute off the bench ... but was unreported.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

rwest Tue Apr 25, 2006 06:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
How can B10 sub for B1? A player already in the line-up cannot be a sub.

Sorry, I probably should have designated B10 as S1.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Apr 25, 2006 06:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Sorry, I probably should have designated B10 as S1.

You need to remember that ASA does allow batting line-ups to include anywhere from 8 to 12 players.

rwest Tue Apr 25, 2006 06:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
You need to remember that ASA does allow batting line-ups to include anywhere from 8 to 12 players.


You're right. I was just sloppy. I know that you can have 8 (playing short handed) to 12 players (co-ed). Actually, 13 with Senior Slow Pitch (65-70-75) - 11 defensive players with 1 or 2 EP.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
If B10 is subbing in for B1 but is unreported and the defense appeals while they are at bat, what is the penalty? The ASA rulebook doesn't mention this scenario in Rule 4.6.C.

My guess is that B10 is disqualified, all play stands (outs, runners advanced), and B1 should assume the ball/strike count. What if B1 has exhausted her re-entries and thus is ineligible to return? B10 is replaced by a valid sub, correct? What if they don't have a valid sub? I would guess we have an out. Is my thinking on this correct?

Thanks!

If this is just a normal sub, S1 would be DQ'd and the starter may reenter if that is available or another sub may enter and assume the ball/strike count. ASA 4.6.C.1

rwest Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
If this is just a normal sub, S1 would be DQ'd and the starter may reenter if that is available or another sub may enter and assume the ball/strike count. ASA 4.6.C.1


Thanks Mike!

That's what I thought. However, if no legal sub is available to assume the ball/strike count, we have an out, correct?

IRISHMAFIA Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
Thanks Mike!

That's what I thought. However, if no legal sub is available to assume the ball/strike count, we have an out, correct?

Yes, sir, one of forty-two!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1