The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2006, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 306
One of the confusing things for me in this string was the force issue. I cannot find any circumstance where an appeal would be considered a force. All appeals are NOT a force. Now my syntax is starting to sound like the NFHS test, but I think you all understand what I am trying to say.

Bugg
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2006, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggBob
One of the confusing things for me in this string was the force issue. I cannot find any circumstance where an appeal would be considered a force. All appeals are NOT a force. Now my syntax is starting to sound like the NFHS test, but I think you all understand what I am trying to say.

Bugg
A base missed that a runner was forced to is a "force out", if appealed before any succeeding runner is put out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2006, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Bugg, change it to 2 outs, and take away the out on BR, and this is a force out on appeal, and NO runs score.

Or on a 2-out Bases loaded homer, R3 from 1st misses 2nd base and is appealed after everyone comes home and the ball is made live. The appeal on R3 is a force, and no runs score.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2006, 07:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In ASA, if the batter is put out, all force plays are off, and no subsequent out can be a force out (excepting some TWP where a runner reinstates his force by retreating). Therefore, the appeal at 3B is not a force play. Only one run scores. But whether it was a force play or not, no runs can score behind the runner called out for missing 3B for the third out.

In OBR, the appeal at 3B would be a force play, because the runner was forced at the time he missed the bag. But the point is moot in this case, as no following runners could score anyway.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2006, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
In ASA, if the batter is put out, all force plays are off, and no subsequent out can be a force out (excepting some TWP where a runner reinstates his force by retreating). .
No, if the BR is retired, there can NEVER be a force out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2006, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Here is my interp:

From the ASA rule book, Points of Emphasis, POE #1:

"J) Force Out: If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score if it was the third out....


R2 was forced to advance to 3B.

. . .If the batter-runner is put out or is the first out on multiple outs on the same play, this would eliminate all force outs.

We can't take this literally.
Common sense can only mean if the B-R was retired before reaching 1B. And all runners to the next base. Therfore R2 was forced to 3B.

On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occured."

In this sitch, the force out was made as a result of the appeal which puts the 3rd out as the force out.

Therfore no runs score on this play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2006, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
Here is my interp:

From the ASA rule book, Points of Emphasis, POE #1:

"J) Force Out: If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score if it was the third out....


R2 was forced to advance to 3B.

. . .If the batter-runner is put out or is the first out on multiple outs on the same play, this would eliminate all force outs.

We can't take this literally.
Common sense can only mean if the B-R was retired before reaching 1B. And all runners to the next base. Therfore R2 was forced to 3B.

On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occured."

In this sitch, the force out was made as a result of the appeal which puts the 3rd out as the force out.

Therfore no runs score on this play.
1) The BR is a R after reaching 1st, so you can take it literally even though your understanding is correct.

2) "On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occured" is a rule; so if the force has been removed before the appeal is made, it is by rule no longer a force.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2006, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
. . .If the batter-runner is put out or is the first out on multiple outs on the same play, this would eliminate all force outs.

We can't take this literally.
Common sense can only mean if the B-R was retired before reaching 1B. And all runners to the next base. Therfore R2 was forced to 3B.
Rule on this one...

R1 on 2B. R2 on 1B. BR hits to shallow RF. All runners off, but R1 stumbles and falls (no OBS) before reaching 3B. R2 stops after rounding 2B waiting for R1 to get going again. BR rounds 1B and is heading to 2B when F4 takes the cutoff and tags BR. F4 throws to F5 at third who tags the base just before R1 finally touches 3B.

Is R1 out?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2006, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
Here is my interp:

From the ASA rule book, Points of Emphasis, POE #1:

"J) Force Out: If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score if it was the third out....


R2 was forced to advance to 3B.

. . .If the batter-runner is put out or is the first out on multiple outs on the same play, this would eliminate all force outs.

We can't take this literally.
Common sense can only mean if the B-R was retired before reaching 1B. And all runners to the next base. Therfore R2 was forced to 3B.

On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occured."

In this sitch, the force out was made as a result of the appeal which puts the 3rd out as the force out.

Therfore no runs score on this play.
Sorry, Tony, but there is no force out
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2006, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
No, if the BR is retired, there can NEVER be a force out.

As I said, it would take a TWP. Abel on 2B, Baker on 1B, 1 out. Charles flies deep to center. Abel takes off toward 3B. F8 makes the catch and Abel returns to 2B but in his meth stupor forgets what base he had started on and continues toward 1B. As Abel is halfway back to 1B and beginning to wonder why Baker is standing on 1B, the defense throws to 2B to FORCE Abel, who had retreated and reinstated the force.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2006, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
From the ASA rule book, Points of Emphasis, POE #1:

"J) Force Out: If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score if it was the third out....

R2 was forced to advance to 3B.

WAS forced at one point. But at the time he was called out, the force was off. ASA is different from OBR.

. . .If the batter-runner is put out or is the first out on multiple outs on the same play, this would eliminate all force outs.

We can't take this literally. Yes. Take it literally.
Common sense can only mean if the B-R was retired before reaching 1B. And all runners to the next base. Therfore R2 was forced to 3B.

On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occured."

In this sitch, the force out was made as a result of the appeal which puts the 3rd out as the force out. But when the appeal was made, it was not a force in ASA.

Therfore no runs score on this play.

ASA case play: Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, 1 out. Charles gets a hit down the RF line. Abel scores. Baker misses 2B and advances to 3B. (Note that Abel was forced to 2B at the time he missed it.) Charles is thrown out (for the second out) trying for a double. The umpire then upholds the appeal of Baker's miss of 2B for the third out. Ruling: Abel's run scores, as the BR was put out before the appeal, so all forces are off. The third out is not a force out.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1