The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 57
Dropped Second Strike

Weird situation - NFHS FP - bases loaded - two outs - catcher drops 2nd swinging strike and batter takes off for First - all other runners take off - in the confusion, two score - finally, play is killed and umpires confer - batter is called back to the box, count 3 & 2 - all other runners sent back to bases occupied - runs nullified. Offensive coach not happy, but when offered the option of having the batter called out for delay of game, accepted the reset of the play. He actually wanted the batter to be called back, but the runners' advances to stand. I could not see rewarding the offense for a mistake the batter made. If I had thought the batter "intentionally" misplayed the count, rather than just being young and confused, I would have had the third out for delay of game.

What say you all?
__________________
Lloyd
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueskysblue
Weird situation - NFHS FP - bases loaded - two outs - catcher drops 2nd swinging strike and batter takes off for First - all other runners take off - in the confusion, two score - finally, play is killed and umpires confer - batter is called back to the box, count 3 & 2 - all other runners sent back to bases occupied - runs nullified. Offensive coach not happy, but when offered the option of having the batter called out for delay of game, accepted the reset of the play. He actually wanted the batter to be called back, but the runners' advances to stand. I could not see rewarding the offense for a mistake the batter made. If I had thought the batter "intentionally" misplayed the count, rather than just being young and confused, I would have had the third out for delay of game.

What say you all?
Bring the batter back, all action stands. The defense must take some responsibility for knowing the count.

How are you going to call the batter out for delaying the game, when the defense was not prepared to pitch the ball to the batter.

DMC.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 57
What's DMC?

Actually, several defensive players were yelling "that's only two strikes"; however, the catcher saw the batter take off and rushed her throw to 1st. The throw was in time, but since it wasn't a dropped third strike, the batter wasn't / couldn't be out. Meanwhile, the baserunners continued running. The first baseman did not attempt to throw anyone else out, because she knew she had the out on the batter runner.

That's why we felt the only action fair to both teams was to "reset".

I appreciate your position, Mike. If it ever happens again . . . .
__________________
Lloyd
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 57
By the way, I have read in the NFHS Baseball Case Book (couldn't find it in the softball case book) (I know, I know, baseball and softball are different games) that a runner who runs down to First on Ball Three, thinking it was Ball Four can be penalized for delay of game, with no mention of the pitcher being ready to pitch.
__________________
Lloyd
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 09:03pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
First of all with the bases loaded and two outs and dropped third strike all the catcher had to do was get the ball and touch home and inning over. Seeings there was only two strikes the defense has to be responsible for knowing the situation also. I call the batter back assume the count and all runs count. There is no other rules to back up what was done. The batter didn't make the mistake the defense did. The catcher also broke the rules by not returning the ball directly back to the pitcher on strike two. There was no strike out, no putout made by the catcher, or no play on a base runner.

Last edited by Ed Maeder; Sun Apr 02, 2006 at 09:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
OK, so you're playing scholastic ball. What does the book say - and reread that delay of game section - does this really fit in the context that the Fed states in the book?

Both the defense and the offense are resposible for being ball players - that means they know the situation and the game.

Addition - DMC = Dumb Move, Catcher
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
If this was done on purpose havnt we got interference .
After all the offensive player is confusing a defensive player .
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
OK, so you're playing scholastic ball. What does the book say - and reread that delay of game section - does this really fit in the context that the Fed states in the book?

Both the defense and the offense are resposible for being ball players - that means they know the situation and the game.

Addition - DMC = Dumb Move, Catcher
Not arguing what the rule (not interference) says; and that is how I enforce it. But, I argue that the offense is protected against 1) not knowing the situation (count), 2) not knowing the D3K rule, and/or 3) intentionally fabricating a play whose sole intent is to confuse the defense, while the defense only is held to the standard of knowing all of the above. Not exactly equitable, in my mind.

But, oh well. It is what it is, and we enforce the rule as written.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueskysblue
By the way, I have read in the NFHS Baseball Case Book (couldn't find it in the softball case book) (I know, I know, baseball and softball are different games) that a runner who runs down to First on Ball Three, thinking it was Ball Four can be penalized for delay of game, with no mention of the pitcher being ready to pitch.
NFHS baseball still has the rule about keeping one foot in the batter's box in between pitches. That's the reason a delay of game penalty would be issued there.

I agree with the majority...call the batter back but the runners score or stay where they advanced.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2006, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueskysblue
By the way, I have read in the NFHS Baseball Case Book (couldn't find it in the softball case book) (I know, I know, baseball and softball are different games) that a runner who runs down to First on Ball Three, thinking it was Ball Four can be penalized for delay of game, with no mention of the pitcher being ready to pitch.
Fed baseball has stupid rules to combat a problem that I don't believe really exists much anymore.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 858
By the way, I have read in the NFHS Baseball Case Book (couldn't find it in the softball case book) (I know, I know, baseball and softball are different games) that a runner who runs down to First on Ball Three, thinking it was Ball Four can be penalized for delay of game, with no mention of the pitcher being ready to pitch.
__________________
Lloyd



I'm in agreement with Mike on this one. Runners stay where they advanced to, runs count and the batter is returned to the box with the correct count. I wasn't able to find your reference to a batter being penalized for delay of game in the case book, please provide a page number for me.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped 3rd strike JRSooner Baseball 12 Tue May 17, 2005 11:10am
Dropped 3rd Strike softball22n Softball 16 Mon May 02, 2005 03:06pm
dropped third strike third out four_eyes Softball 6 Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:28pm
Is it a Dropped Third Strike ? Bandit Softball 29 Mon Dec 27, 2004 03:53pm
Dropped 3rd Strike odysseus Softball 5 Fri May 24, 2002 10:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1