The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   3 foot lane (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25937-3-foot-lane.html)

benbret Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:37pm

3 foot lane
 
NF fast pitch. Bases loaded 1 out. Batter/Runner hits a ground ball to pitcher.
Pitcher goes to catcher at home for force out. Catcher who is completely behind home plate then throws to first to get the B/R. The throw hits the B/R in the back about 1 step from 1st base. Home plate umpire calls the B/R out for being inside the 3 foot lane. Is this the correct call?

Smiley Wed Apr 05, 2006 06:24am

Inside the 3 ft. lane is where the B-R is supposed to be.

mcrowder Wed Apr 05, 2006 07:30am

If you meant "inside" as in on the inner side of the line into fair territory, then yes, this is the right call. If you meant "inside" as in within the 3 foot lane that he is required to be in, then obviously and emphatically no. Barring intent, BR cannot be called out for interference if he is INSIDE (ie between the fair/foul line and the outside line) the 3-foot lane.

CecilOne Wed Apr 05, 2006 08:09am

If the question is whether the catcher being in foul ground affects the rule, it does not. If the BR was inside the lane and the ump called it based on the BR having to get out of the way of a foul ground throw by moving out of the lane, that is wrong. The only exception to the lane rule is avoiding a fielder fielding a batted ball.

The only "rule" (non-NFHS) affected by the source of the throw is the double-base.

Dakota Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by benbret
The throw hits the B/R in the back about 1 step from 1st base.

Did you have a double base?

If no, then HTBT, but this sounds like it might have been a questionable call.

msrock1954 Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smiley
Inside the 3 ft. lane is where the B-R is supposed to be.

Is a batter runner considered to be in the lane if she's running with one foot in the lane and ther other foot on the fair side of the baseline between 1rst and 2nd???? In other words does the runner have to be completely in the lane?

shipwreck Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:57am

If the BR is running with her feet on the line she is considered within the 3' lane. If her whole foot is outside the line she is outside the lane. It is the same as making contact with the ball when she is batting. If she is making contact with the line she is in. Dave

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:40am

Is a batter runner considered to be in the lane if she's running with one foot in the lane and ther other foot on the fair side of the baseline between 1rst and 2nd???? In other words does the runner have to be completely in the lane?

If a thrown ball hits the part of the BR's body outside the running lane and it keeps the defender from catching the ball, it's INT.

mcrowder Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Is a batter runner considered to be in the lane if she's running with one foot in the lane and ther other foot on the fair side of the baseline between 1rst and 2nd???? In other words does the runner have to be completely in the lane?

If a thrown ball hits the part of the BR's body outside the running lane and it keeps the defender from catching the ball, it's INT.

That's very unlike you, Mike... this doesn't answer his question at all.

You're implying here that the ball has to hit BR. We both know that's not true, and your statement doesn't help the situation where the ball does not strike the BR, and BR is running along the line as described.

In the case described, if BR is running with one foot in, and one foot out, and she interferes with the fielder's opportunity to catch a thrown ball, I have interference.

debeau Wed Apr 05, 2006 02:25pm

Mike does answer the question .
Even though the BR may have both feet in the lane , if shoulders or arms fling about and are inside the diamond the there is interference .
I presume we have a typo error base line between 1st and 2nd .
If not there is no intereference here unless intereference is intentional .
The R can run either side of the base line .

mcrowder Wed Apr 05, 2006 02:45pm

No, he didn't.

The question was... "Is the runner considered in the lane if..."

His answer was "If a runner is hit by a ball.... ", which was not what was being asked. It was only a partial possibility - a subset of the question.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 05, 2006 03:17pm

No, I made a true statement based on the OP and the thread.

msrock1954 Wed Apr 05, 2006 06:09pm

Sorry about the typo, as I meant between HP and 1rst. So as I"m understanding this if any part of the runners body "IS NOT" within the confines of the running lane, and said person gets hit with the ball on said part of the body that insn't within the confines of the running lane and this action prevents the defender from fielding the throw then we call the batter-runner out???

mcrowder Thu Apr 06, 2006 07:47am

I guess the confusion, Mike, was that you quoted someone else's question, which made me think you were answering that person's question. My bad.:confused:

CecilOne Thu Apr 06, 2006 08:54am

Can we get a restatement of the OP with clarification of "inside the 3 foot lane"?

msrock1954 Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:40pm

After re-reading all the posts I've managed to confuse myself, as all I was trying to clarify was whether the "batter-runners" entire body had to be "INSIDE" the 3' running lane to be protected from being called out for interfering with the fielder's opportunity to catch the throw from F2, or any other defensive player for that matter, to make a play on her. For example if the batter-runner is 5 steps from 1rst base and totally in the lane and get's pluncked in the back by a less than perfect throw from F1 I believe she's protected barring intent. But in that same scenario:D what if she's straddling the baseline, from HP to 1rst base and get's hit on her left shoulder which isn't actually in the lane is she out? This of course is assuming F3 is unable to make the catch? Sorry if I'm over analyzing this one, as I'm just trying to get it clear in my head so I can make the proper call when the time comes!!!

IRISHMAFIA Thu Apr 06, 2006 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by msrock1954
For example if the batter-runner is 5 steps from 1rst base and totally in the lane and get's pluncked in the back by a less than perfect throw from F1 I believe she's protected barring intent. But in that same scenario:D what if she's straddling the baseline, from HP to 1rst base and get's hit on her left shoulder which isn't actually in the lane is she out? This of course is assuming F3 is unable to make the catch? Sorry if I'm over analyzing this one, as I'm just trying to get it clear in my head so I can make the proper call when the time comes!!!

I believe I already answered this question.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Apr 06, 2006 01:25pm

Mike has actually answered you; but, I find that sometimes it helps if someone else rephrases an answer.

If a batter-runner interferes with the possible catch of a throw in fair territory by a fielder in position to make that catch, that is a violation of the 3foot running lane rule. The interference can be by contacting the ball or screening the fielder, either intentionally or inadvertantly; but the interference, if it occurs, must happen over fair territory, regardless how much of the BR may be in foul territory.

The exception to this rule in ASA is if the play is coming from foul territory to begin with, and the fielder chooses the orange (foul territory) base when a double base exists, then the batter-runner is given an equivalent 3 foot running lane in fair territory, since she may then use the white (fair) first base. In that case, the runner actually has a 6 foot running, 3 feet on either side of the fair line. To my knowledge, NFHS does not have an equivalent exception, and it does not apply in NCAA, which doesn't use a double base.

Does that rewording make it clearer?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1