![]() |
HBP in front of box
A while back, I asked what the ruling would be if a left-handed batter ran up to show bunt or slash, crossed the front line of the batter's box, did not offer, and--out of the box--was hit by a pitch that did not have a chance to become a strike.
I posed this question to my NJ UIC a couple of weeks ago, and the answer has now come back from ASA: it is "hit by pitch." |
Just to clarify for those that didn't read the first thread...
"Did not have a chance to become a strike" can be misread (and was! By me in the OP). Grey means a pitch that would not have otherwise become a strike had it not hit the batter. Initially, I read this as a ball that did not have a chance to become a strike BECAUSE of the batter being hit outside the box... and that it would have become a strike had the batter not deprived it of it's full flight toward the plate. In Grey's sitch, this is indeed a HBP. If the pitch was going to be a strike, however, had it continued it's flight, it is a DBS. |
Good catch, mcrowder. "Did not have a chance to become a strike" could mistakenly be taken to mean "was not given a chance to become a strike."
I should have known better, since part of my regular job is to write medical instructions, methods, and procedures that cannot be interpreted more than one way. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05pm. |