The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2006, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
[QUOTE=Steve M]

I've got "about to receive", so no 'second' obstruction on this play under NCAA. R1 is out.

[QUOTE]

Steve,

How so? From the scenario offered, there is no way the ball was closer to the fielder than the runner at the time of OBS. Or, at least, that is the way I read it.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2006, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Mike,
I'm picturing 2 separate "obstructions" on Andy's play. On the first, I have obstruction under everybody's rules and R1 is protected to 3rd. The second is when F6 jumps for the ball and R1 slides awkwardly. With this second, I'm picturing that ball & runner are about the same distance from the fielder - but the ball travels much faster, so I probably have "about to receive". College rules, with "about to receive", and that means no second obstruction.

Andy's ruling occurred to me when I first read the play. I'd have had to see that to be able to rule that way. 'Cuz I'm not at all sure that it would hold up to a protest with R1 going beyond 3B.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2006, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
So far as I know, there is no direct rules basis to protect a runner beyond the awarded and/or protected base as a result of the obstruction. And, that's what we have here; she passed her protected base (third). In NCAA, there is absolutely not a 2nd obstruction, because they still use the theory of a wreck whenever the defense is "doing her job". But, even if there were, it still occurred before third, and doesn't extend her protection.

What I suspect could hold water is using the universal "meet in spirit of sportsmanship" and "shall not impose a penalty which rewards the offending team" rule in every rule set. It is unreasonable to allow F6 to obstruct without truly protecting the offense against what we judge to be the result of the obstruction.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1