The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Mar 16, 2006, 10:49am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to OhioASADistrict1Commish
Talking

I have been a coach, umpire and tournament director. After many years from each position I have had the opportunity to watch many games.
I would like to know what the average number of coaches that you have ejected from a game over the course of a year, or 5 year period. Please state if this was high school, rec. ball, tournament games or something different.
If you have tossed a good number of coaches, what was the circumstances?
Old Thu Mar 16, 2006, 11:00am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by OhioASADistrict1Commish
I have been a coach, umpire and tournament director. After many years from each position I have had the opportunity to watch many games.
I would like to know what the average number of coaches that you have ejected from a game over the course of a year, or 5 year period. Please state if this was high school, rec. ball, tournament games or something different.
If you have tossed a good number of coaches, what was the circumstances?
None. It is the coach's choice to leave, I just show them the door.
Old Thu Mar 16, 2006, 11:21am
Official Forum Member

I agree with Mike. One way or another, they've chosen to toss themselves. When they do that, I agree with them.
Old Thu Mar 16, 2006, 11:23am
Official Forum Member

1 in 8 years. He deserved it (without going into the circumstances). Were there others that may have been as deserving? Maybe, but generally the stern warning seems to work and if the coach is just being stupid, I let him look stupid. I do my best to ignore ignorance, unless it becomes personal or derogatory.

By the way for me we're talking Fed, ASA, NSA and various rec situations. Almost all are youth oriented.
Old Thu Mar 16, 2006, 11:40am
Official Forum Member

What is a 'stern warning'?

Thanks

Ciao