The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Slung the bat (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25728-slung-bat.html)

Tex Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:24am

Slung the bat
 
Had a batter who during the hitting of the softball in a NFHS game, slung the bat to where the bat went behind the catcher and hit the fence quite hard. The bat did not slip from her hand. I warned the coach and said, that for safety reasons, the next batter who does this will be restricted to the bench. Two innings later, same batter does the same thing again, with the bat landing in about the same spot next to the fence, as she safely reaches 1st base.

I restricted this person to the bench and a substitute replaced her at 1st base. I have not found any rule (NCAA, NFHS, or ASA), covering slinging of the bat in foul territory, thus supporting my call. Was this the proper call? Please mention the supporting rule I should have used.

Dakota Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:40am

NFHS 3-6-2.

The PENALTY is printed after 3-6-12.

Although from your description, I may have applied 3-6-18, which would have resulted in ejection (especially the second time).

Tex Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:03pm

Tom,
Thank-you, I assume the substitution at 1st base was proper.

Smiley Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex
Tom,
Thank-you, I assume the substitution at 1st base was proper.

Substitution was proper. Penalty does not include an out.

Al Sat Mar 25, 2006 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smiley
Substitution was proper. Penalty does not include an out.

In USSSA coach pitch throwing a bat results in a team warning and the next player that throws a bat is called out, with no one advancing on the play. It's a complete judgment call as to what constitutes a thrown bat. I had to use that judgment a few times last year, and only once did the second offense come where I rules an out, and I had no arguments from any coaches. I don't judge a bat to have been thrown, unless it is pretty obvious and could have put someone in harms way. ..I did have one lady tell me she thinks I should call it more often. I told her I don't think just tossing the bat down towards foul territory, as they are starting towards first base, is what is meant by throwing the bat. In a nice way I told her if she wants to make judement calls she should seek an umpire job. :) ...

Nothin' like fun at the ole' ball park!

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 25, 2006 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex
Had a batter who during the hitting of the softball in a NFHS game, slung the bat to where the bat went behind the catcher and hit the fence quite hard. The bat did not slip from her hand. I warned the coach and said, that for safety reasons, the next batter who does this will be restricted to the bench. Two innings later, same batter does the same thing again, with the bat landing in about the same spot next to the fence, as she safely reaches 1st base.

I restricted this person to the bench and a substitute replaced her at 1st base. I have not found any rule (NCAA, NFHS, or ASA), covering slinging of the bat in foul territory, thus supporting my call. Was this the proper call? Please mention the supporting rule I should have used.

And you will not find anything in ASA concerning what you have described.

Skahtboi Mon Mar 27, 2006 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Al
In USSSA coach pitch throwing a bat results in a team warning and the next player that throws a bat is called out, with no one advancing on the play. It's a complete judgment call as to what constitutes a thrown bat. I had to use that judgment a few times last year, and only once did the second offense come where I rules an out, and I had no arguments from any coaches. I don't judge a bat to have been thrown, unless it is pretty obvious and could have put someone in harms way. ..I did have one lady tell me she thinks I should call it more often. I told her I don't think just tossing the bat down towards foul territory, as they are starting towards first base, is what is meant by throwing the bat. In a nice way I told her if she wants to make judement calls she should seek an umpire job. :) ...

Nothin' like fun at the ole' ball park!

Please tell me the rule that supports this in the rule book. I believe you are confusing a local rule with a USSSA rule.

mcrowder Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:39am

There is no such USSSA rule regarding this... although umpires always want to invent one.

Al Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Please tell me the rule that supports this in the rule book. I believe you are confusing a local rule with a USSSA rule.

Hey Scott,

Last year all umpires and coaches were given a list of rules in a meeting prior to the start of the season. Concerning bat throwing it was a judgment call on the part of he umpires. Yes, it was a Local Rule... My bad! I assumed since it was listed with other rules that were in the USSSA rules that it also came from the rule book. This Friday we are having a meeting with coaches and umpires to go over the rules and changes to rules for this year. ...Al

DownTownTonyBrown Tue Mar 28, 2006 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
NFHS 3-6-2.

The PENALTY is printed after 3-6-12.

Although from your description, I may have applied 3-6-18, which would have resulted in ejection (especially the second time).

You must be looking at an old rule book.
2006 NFHS 3-6-3
A team member shall not carelessly throw a bat.
PENALTY
The umpire shall issue a team warning to the coach of the team involved and the next offender on that team shall be restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game.

NFHS 3-6-16
Team personnel shall not deliberately throw bats, helmets or any other piece of equipment.
PENALTY
The umpire shall eject the offender from the game, unless the offense is judged to be of a minor nature. If minor, the umpire may warn the offender and eject if the offense is repeated.

CASE BOOK PLAY 3.6.16 Situation B
After hitting a line drive toward F5, B1 throws her bat and it strikes the catcher or umpire. the act was judged to be (a) intentional, or (b) unintentional. RULING: In (a), the offender will be ejected from the game. If B1's fair hit ball is a base hit, B! will be replaced with a substitute runner. In (b), the umpire will warn the team for a carelessly thrown bat, and if the act is repeated, any subsequent offenders on that team will be restricted to the bench/dugout for the remainder of the game.

umpiregal65 Tue Mar 28, 2006 02:48pm

throwing bat
 
Even though the asa rules says slipping or throwing in anger, I would have warned her, next time she is ejected. To me it would be a safety issue.

Skahtboi Tue Mar 28, 2006 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpiregal65
Even though the asa rules says slipping or throwing in anger, I would have warned her, next time she is ejected. To me it would be a safety issue.

What rule, from the book, are you going to use to support this action?

umpiregal65 Tue Mar 28, 2006 03:12pm

slung the bat
 
I would use unsportsman like behavior. She was warned once.

mcrowder Tue Mar 28, 2006 04:17pm

Unsportsmanlike behavior? Show me the rule you will point to when you threaten my best player with ejection for inadvertently throwing a bat. Show me the rule you will point to when she is ejected for accidentally doing it a 2nd time. This is a protest you will lose (assuming your local league isn't making up rules on this).

Skahtboi Tue Mar 28, 2006 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpiregal65
I would use unsportsman like behavior. She was warned once.

Again....what rule, from the book, are you going to use to support this action?

softball_junky Wed Mar 29, 2006 08:14am

I think you use Rule 10 :)

AtlUmpSteve Wed Mar 29, 2006 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by softball_junky
I think you use Rule 10 :)

I don't believe that applies. There is a standing ruling from the ASA Director of Umpires that absent intent, there is no penalty. In order to rule USC, you must rule intent (ie, thrown in anger).

Since there is a ruling, you cannot use the rule that says you can decide when there is no ruling that applies.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
I don't believe that applies. There is a standing ruling from the ASA Director of Umpires that absent intent, there is no penalty. In order to rule USC, you must rule intent (ie, thrown in anger).

Since there is a ruling, you cannot use the rule that says you can decide when there is no ruling that applies.

Actually, POE #52 covers it.

softball_junky Thu Mar 30, 2006 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
I don't believe that applies. There is a standing ruling from the ASA Director of Umpires that absent intent, there is no penalty. In order to rule USC, you must rule intent (ie, thrown in anger).

Since there is a ruling, you cannot use the rule that says you can decide when there is no ruling that applies.

Thanks Steve that does make sense. What I was thinking if the bat was thrown in a way that you felt was a safety issue and there is no rule stating that the act is illegal you could use rule 10 and at least give a warning that if it happened again the player could be disqualified. I don’t' have my book with me but I' will check POE #52 as Mike said.

mcrowder Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:36am

We should try not to lean too hard on rule 10. I know some umpires (not saying you are one), and have read others here, who seem to think rule 10 gives them authority to invent rulings on things that ARE covered in the book. Rule 10 really should only be used when the event in question TRULY is not covered in the book. I suspect 1 time per year per umpire is too often.

Skahtboi Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
We should try not to lean too hard on rule 10. I know some umpires (not saying you are one), and have read others here, who seem to think rule 10 gives them authority to invent rulings on things that ARE covered in the book. Rule 10 really should only be used when the event in question TRULY is not covered in the book. I suspect 1 time per year per umpire is too often.


I don't remember ever invoking rule 10.

umpiregal65 Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
NFHS 3-6-2.

The PENALTY is printed after 3-6-12.

Although from your description, I may have applied 3-6-18, which would have resulted in ejection (especially the second time).


I don't have a NFHS book yet but this is what i would do in my judgement.

Dakota Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpiregal65
I don't have a NFHS book yet but this is what i would do in my judgement.

fyi,... the only difference between the rules I referenced and the ones that DTTB quotes are the rule numbers. I do have the 2005 book at work.

mcrowder Thu Mar 30, 2006 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
I don't remember ever invoking rule 10.

I have once. A fence fell into the field as a play was going on, and interfered with play. Both coaches protested our ruling on the field, and our only backup was rule 10.

Dakota Thu Mar 30, 2006 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
I have once. A fence fell into the field as a play was going on, and interfered with play. Both coaches protested our ruling on the field, and our only backup was rule 10.

What was wrong with the rule on de fence-ive interference? :D

Skahtboi Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
What was wrong with the rule on de fence-ive interference? :D

:eek: :eek: :eek:

mcrowder Fri Mar 31, 2006 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
What was wrong with the rule on de fence-ive interference? :D

Been a while since I laughed out loud here. Nice. :eek: :D :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1