The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2006, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Well, actually it DOES say R1 went down ("Both went down"), but in general I agree with 3B as the award. You decide the award at the moment of obstruction. At that moment, R1 was heading AWAY from home - so there's absolutely no chance of me awarding home. (Now... if the obstruction continued after the ball went by as R1 was trying to get up, we have a different sitch, and she may be entitled to home).

Now, to CELTIC: you would call her out if she's tagged out at home, and maybe not even protect her back to third? PLEASE reread this rule. There is no possibility that R1 can be called out between the bases where she's obstructed (either at home or at 3rd), with the obvious exceptions listed in the book that don't apply here (intervening play on another runner, passing a runner, etc.). You CAN NOT call her out if she's thrown out at home, even if your award was going to only be 3rd base.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1