The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 16, 2006, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by JFA67
Quote:
Originally posted by Skahtboi
R1 on 1B. B2 hits a hot grounder to F5 who boots the ball, sending it in the direction of the open offensive dugout. (No wall or screening to protect the bench). Before the ball enters the dugout, the ball caroms off an offensive player not in the game and who is sitting at the edge of the dugout, then into the dugout. What do you rule?
I can't tell from your post if the offensive player caused the ball to roll into the dugout or not. Or if she was in or out of the dogout.
If she did then the runners stop at first and second.
If the ball would have entered the dugout anyway, apply book rule. R1 at 3rd, B2 at second.

I think Scott is looking for an INT discussion here.

Not sure if NFHS would be the same, but speaking ASA.

It could be INT if the offensive player's presence prevented the defense from making a play. If not INT, the ball would be a blocked ball which kills the play and the runners would return to the base last touched at the time the ball became dead.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1