The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 15, 2006, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 139
This happened to my daughters team and was looking for help with the rules interpretation.
Situation: R1 @ 2nd base and one out. Batter hits a sharp ground ball which is fielded cleanly by the 1st baseman. The Batter-runner takes only 3-4 steps toward first and stops. This forces the first baseman to either throw to 1st for the out or come towards the plate and tag the runner. She chooses the latter and R1 advances to third. When the 1st baseman comes to tag the B-R she tags her up near the shoulder. As she applies the high tag (No malicious tag, just a little high), the B-R leans back towards home plate. The B-R never moved her feet. The plate umpire calls the B-R out and leaves R1 at third. The defensive coach appeals to the Plate umpire who then confers with his partner. After the conference, the umpires return R1 to 2nd base. Is "leaning back" considered
moving back toward home plate in NCAA? I understand the rule but I disagree with this interpretation. Any NCAA blues out there that can shed a little light on this one?

__________________
David
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1