The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 28, 2006, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
According to the 2004 NCAA rule book (the latest I have here, and I don't feel like going to the web site) and the 2005 ASA rule book, either the out would stand or the runner's advance would stand (I think!?!)

15-9-c (NCAA) and 10-6-C (ASA) gives the umpire the authority to rectify any situation where a reversed or delayed call places either team in jeopardy. Clearly, if the call is reversed, it would place the defense in jeopardy.

However, the rule goes on to say that
Quote:
"This correction is not possible after one legal or illegal pitch has been thrown or after the pitcher and all infielders have clearly vacated their normal fielding positions and have left fair territory."
ASA has similar language.

So, given this, you can reverse the call alright, but the runner's advance stands. Or you could not reverse the call and the play stands. But you can't reverse the call and put the runner back.

At least that is what it seems to say to me.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1