The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2006, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
”At anyrate, I'll have to agree to disagree and state the rule is obviously written with the intent: a swing (not a hit) or an ATTEMPTED bunt (not a bunt)”


Come on, Wade – if you are going to take such a literal reading of this rule, than what are you going to do with the standard CO rule. Back up a couple lines in either book and read, “The catcher or another defensive player obstructs, hinders or prevents the batter from striking or hitting a pitched ball.”

Would you suggest that if the batter actually hits the ball, then you couldn’t have obstruction?

FYI – ASA casebook Play 8.1-24: ” (FP only) R1 is on 3B. A squeeze play is in progress as the batter attempts to bunt the pitched ball and is obstructed by the catcher.”

“Ruling: Dead Ball and obstruction are declared. B1 is awarded 1B, R1 is awarded home as a result of obstruction during a squeeze play.”


Now compare the ASA case play with the one you found in the NFHS casebook. The rules are the same in both books; the ASA case play exactly meets the rule, and the NFHS one does not. IMO, the NFHS one is wrong and I am adding it to several pages of rules and casebook errors I have submitted to the Committee for revision next year.

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1